Third Session – Forty-Second Legislature

of the

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

Standing Committee on Justice

Chairperson Mr. Andrew Micklefield Constituency of Rossmere

Vol. LXXV No. 1 - 5:30 p.m., Monday, November 30, 2020

MANITOBA LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY Forty-Second Legislature

Member	Constituency	Political Affiliation
ADAMS, Danielle	Thompson	NDP
ALTOMARE, Nello	Transcona	NDP
ASAGWARA, Uzoma	Union Station	NDP
BRAR, Diljeet	Burrows	NDP
BUSHIE, Ian	Keewatinook	NDP
CLARKE, Eileen, Hon.	Agassiz	PC
COX, Cathy, Hon.	Kildonan-River East	PC
CULLEN, Cliff, Hon.	Spruce Woods	PC
DRIEDGER, Myrna, Hon.	Roblin	PC
EICHLER, Ralph, Hon.	Lakeside	PC
EWASKO, Wayne	Lac du Bonnet	PC
FIELDING, Scott, Hon.	Kirkfield Park	PC
	St. Johns	NDP
FONTAINE, Nahanni		NDP PC
FRIESEN, Cameron, Hon.	Morden-Winkler	
GERRARD, Jon, Hon.	River Heights	Lib.
GOERTZEN, Kelvin, Hon.	Steinbach	PC
GORDON, Audrey	Southdale	PC
GUENTER, Josh	Borderland	PC
GUILLEMARD, Sarah, Hon.	Fort Richmond	PC
HELWER, Reg, Hon.	Brandon West	PC
ISLEIFSON, Len	Brandon East	PC
JOHNSON, Derek	Interlake-Gimli	PC
JOHNSTON, Scott	Assiniboia	PC
KINEW, Wab	Fort Rouge	NDP
LAGASSÉ, Bob	Dawson Trail	PC
LAGIMODIERE, Alan	Selkirk	РС
LAMONT, Dougald	St. Boniface	Lib.
LAMOUREUX, Cindy	Tyndall Park	Lib.
LATHLIN, Amanda	The Pas-Kameesak	NDP
LINDSEY, Tom	Flin Flon	NDP
MALOWAY, Jim	Elmwood	NDP
MARCELINO, Malaya	Notre Dame	NDP
-	McPhillips	PC
MARTIN, Shannon MICHALESKI, Brad	1	PC
-	Dauphin Rossmere	PC
MICKLEFIELD, Andrew		
MORLEY-LECOMTE, Janice	Seine River	PC
MOSES, Jamie	St. Vital	NDP
NAYLOR, Lisa	Wolseley	NDP
NESBITT, Greg	Riding Mountain	PC
PALLISTER, Brian, Hon.	Fort Whyte	PC
PEDERSEN, Blaine, Hon.	Midland	PC
PIWNIUK, Doyle	Turtle Mountain	PC
REYES, Jon	Waverley	PC
SALA, Adrien	St. James	NDP
SANDHU, Mintu	The Maples	NDP
SCHULER, Ron, Hon.	Springfield-Ritchot	PC
SMITH, Andrew	Lagimodière	PC
SMITH, Bernadette	Point Douglas	NDP
SMOOK, Dennis	La Vérendrye	PC
SQUIRES, Rochelle, Hon.	Riel	PC
STEFANSON, Heather, Hon.	Tuxedo	PC
TEITSMA, James	Radisson	PC
WASYLIW, Mark	Fort Garry	NDP
WHARTON, Jeff, Hon.	Red River North	PC
WIEBE, Matt	Concordia Destas la Desisia	NDP
WISHART, Ian	Portage la Prairie	PC
WOWCHUK, Rick	Swan River	PC

Monday, November 30, 2020

TIME – 5:30 p.m.

LOCATION – Winnipeg, Manitoba

CHAIRPERSON – Mr. Andrew Micklefield (Rossmere)

VICE-CHAIRPERSON – Ms. Audrey Gordon (Southdale)

ATTENDANCE – 6 QUORUM – 4

Members of the Committee present:

Hon. Mr. Cullen, Hon. Mrs. Stefanson

Mses. Fontaine, Gordon, Mr. Micklefield, Mrs. Smith

MATTERS UNDER CONSIDERATION:

Bill 9—The Opioid Damages and Health Care Costs Recovery Act

* * *

Clerk Assistant (Ms. Katerina Tefft): Good afternoon. Will the Standing Committee on Justice please come to order.

Before the committee can proceed with the business before it, it must elect a new Chairperson.

Are there any nominations for this position?

Ms. Audrey Gordon (Southdale): I nominate the member for Rossmere (Mr. Micklefield).

Clerk Assistant: Mr. Micklefield has been nominated.

Are there any other nominations?

Hearing no other nominations, Mr. Micklefield, will you please take the Chair.

Mr. Chairperson: Our next item of business is the election of a new Vice-Chairperson.

Are there any nominations?

Mr. Cliff Cullen (Minister of Justice and Attorney General): I nominate Ms. Gordon.

Mr. Chairperson: Ms. Gordon has been nominated.

Are there any other nominations?

Hearing no other nominations, Ms. Gordon is elected Vice-Chairperson.

This meeting has been called to consider Bill 9, The Opioid Damages and Health Care Costs Recovery Act.

We have no registered presenters to this bill.

Bill 9–The Opioid Damages and Health Care Costs Recovery Act

Mr. Chairperson: We will now proceed with clauseby-clause of Bill 9.

Does the minister responsible for Bill 9 have anyhave an opening statement?

Hon. Cliff Cullen (Minister of Justice and Attorney General): Mr. Chair, just briefly. I'm pleased to have introduced this legislation, which will allow Manitoba to join a class action lawsuit that was launched by British Columbia in 2018. This lawsuit aims to hold to account opioid manufacturers whose products have had and continue to have damaging effects on the health and well-being of Manitobans.

Once passed, Manitoba would join British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick in pursuing action against the opioid industry.

This builds on our government's investments in expanding the continuum of care for mental health and addictions related to-related challenges in our province and aligns with recommendations of a number of reports including VIRGO, the Illicit Drug Task Force and the Community Wellness and Public Safety Alliance reports.

I look forward to the support of the committee and the House in having this bill passed so that we can take on pharmaceutical companies that have created such a significant and ongoing harm to Manitobans.

Thank you, Mr. Chair.

Mr. Chairperson: We thank the minister.

Does the critic from the official opposition have an opening statement?

During the consideration of a bill, the enacting clause and title are postponed until all other clauses have been considered in their proper order.

Also, if there is agreement from the committee, the Chair will call clauses in blocks that conform to pages, with the understanding that we will stop at any particular clause or clauses where members may have comments, questions or amendments to propose. Is that agreed? [Agreed]

I now invite all virtual committee members to unmute themselves so that their responses to the question can be heard.

As a reminder to all, the members of this committee are myself; Honourable Mr. Cullen;

Ms. Fontaine; Ms. Gordon; Mrs. Smith, Point Douglas; and Honourable Mrs. Stefanson.

Clause 1—pass; clause 2—pass; clause 3—pass; clause 4—pass; clause 5—pass; clauses 6 and 7 pass; clause 8—pass; clauses 9 through 11—pass; clauses 12 and 13—pass; clauses 14 and 15—pass; schedule—pass; enacting clause—pass; title—pass. Bill be reported.

The hour being 5:35, what is the will of the committee?

Some Honourable Members: Rise.

Mr. Chairperson: Committee rise.

COMMITTEE ROSE AT: 5:35 p.m.

The Legislative Assembly of Manitoba Debates and Proceedings are also available on the Internet at the following address: http://www.manitoba.ca/legislature/hansard/hansard.html