# **Second Session – Forty-Second Legislature**

of the

# Legislative Assembly of Manitoba Standing Committee on Public Accounts

Chairperson Mr. Jim Maloway Constituency of Elmwood

# MANITOBA LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY Forty-Second Legislature

Member	Constituency	Political Affiliation
ADAMS, Danielle	Thompson	NDP
ALTOMARE, Nello	Transcona	NDP
ASAGWARA, Uzoma	Union Station	NDP
BRAR, Diljeet	Burrows	NDP
BUSHIE, Ian	Keewatinook	NDP
CLARKE, Eileen, Hon.	Agassiz	PC
COX, Cathy, Hon.	Kildonan-River East	PC
CULLEN, Cliff, Hon.	Spruce Woods	PC
DRIEDGER, Myrna, Hon.	Roblin	PC
EICHLER, Ralph, Hon.	Lakeside	PC
EWASKO, Wayne	Lac du Bonnet	PC
FIELDING, Scott, Hon.	Kirkfield Park	PC
FONTAINE, Nahanni	St. Johns	NDP
FRIESEN, Cameron, Hon.	Morden-Winkler	PC
GERRARD, Jon, Hon.	River Heights	Lib.
	Steinbach	PC
GORDON, Andrew	Southdale	PC
GORDON, Audrey		
GUENTER, Josh	Borderland	PC
GUILLEMARD, Sarah, Hon.	Fort Richmond	PC
HELWER, Reg, Hon.	Brandon West	PC
ISLEIFSON, Len	Brandon East	PC
JOHNSON, Derek	Interlake-Gimli	PC
JOHNSTON, Scott	Assiniboia	PC
KINEW, Wab	Fort Rouge	NDP
LAGASSÉ, Bob	Dawson Trail	PC
LAGIMODIERE, Alan	Selkirk	PC
LAMONT, Dougald	St. Boniface	Lib.
LAMOUREUX, Cindy	Tyndall Park	Lib.
LATHLIN, Amanda	The Pas-Kameesak	NDP
LINDSEY, Tom	Flin Flon	NDP
MALOWAY, Jim	Elmwood	NDP
MARCELINO, Malaya	Notre Dame	NDP
MARTIN, Shannon	McPhillips	PC
MOSES, Jamie	St. Vital	NDP
MICHALESKI, Brad	Dauphin	PC
MICKLEFIELD, Andrew	Rossmere	PC
MORLEY-LECOMTE, Janice	Seine River	PC
NAYLOR, Lisa	Wolseley	NDP
NESBITT, Greg	Riding Mountain	PC
PALLISTER, Brian, Hon.	Fort Whyte	PC
PEDERSEN, Blaine, Hon.	Midland	PC
PIWNIUK, Doyle	Turtle Mountain	PC
REYES, Jon		PC
	Waverley	
SALA, Adrien	St. James	NDP
SANDHU, Mintu	The Maples	NDP
SCHULER, Ron, Hon.	Springfield-Ritchot	PC
SMITH, Andrew	Lagimodière	PC
SMITH, Bernadette	Point Douglas	NDP
SMOOK, Dennis	La Vérendrye	PC
SQUIRES, Rochelle, Hon.	Riel	PC
STEFANSON, Heather, Hon.		
TEITSMA, James	Tuxedo	PC
	Tuxedo Radisson	PC
WASYLIW, Mark	Tuxedo Radisson Fort Garry	PC NDP
WASYLIW, Mark WHARTON, Jeff, Hon.	Tuxedo Radisson	PC
	Tuxedo Radisson Fort Garry	PC NDP
WHARTON, Jeff, Hon.	Tuxedo Radisson Fort Garry Red River North	PC NDP PC

### THE STANDING COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

Thursday, November 28, 2019

TIME - 5:15 p.m.

LOCATION - Winnipeg, Manitoba

CHAIRPERSON - Mr. Jim Maloway (Elmwood)

VICE-CHAIRPERSON – Mr. Andrew Smith (Lagimodière)

ATTENDANCE – 11 QUORUM – 6

Members of the Committee present:

Messrs. Johnston, Lamont, Lindsey, Maloway, Michaleski, Ms. Morley-Lecomte, Mr. Smith, Mrs. Smith, Messrs. Teitsma, Wasyliw, Wishart

## **MATTERS UNDER CONSIDERATION:**

To consider the election of the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson

\* \* \*

**Clerk Assistant (Mr. Andrea Signorelli):** Good evening. Will the Standing Committee on Public Accounts please come to order.

Before the committee can proceed with the business before it, it must elect a new Chairperson.

Are there any nominations for this position?

**Mr. Tom Lindsey (Flin Flon):** I would like to nominate Mr. Maloway.

Clerk Assistant: Mr. Maloway has been nominated.

Are there any other nominations?

Hearing no other nominations, Mr. Maloway, will you please take the Chair.

**Mr. Chairperson:** Our next item of business is the election of a Vice-Chairperson.

Are there any nominations for this position?

Mr. Scott Johnston (Assiniboia): I nominate Mr. Smith.

Mr. Chairperson: Mr. Smith has been nominated.

Are there any other nominations?

Hearing no other nominations, Mr. Smith is elected Vice-Chairperson.

In addition to electing a Chairperson and a Vice-Chairperson, as in past years, the establishment of a steering committee, along with agreement to have separate pre-briefings with the Auditor General, is needed.

The purpose of the steering committee is to handle procedural or logistical matters, as well as any organizational issues.

Does the committee agree to establish a steering committee of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts, comprising of the Chairperson, the Vice-Chairperson, the Auditor General, a committee clerk and the research officer? [Agreed]

Does the committee agree to have in camera premeeting briefing sessions with the Auditor General? [Agreed]

The hour being 5:17, what is the will of the committee?

Some Honourable Members: Rise.

Mr. Chairperson: Committee rise.

COMMITTEE ROSE AT: 5:17 p.m.

The Legislative Assembly of Manitoba Debates and Proceedings are also available on the Internet at the following address:

http://www.manitoba.ca/legislature/hansard/hansard.html