First Session - Forty-First Legislature

of the

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba Standing Committee on Public Accounts

Chairperson Mr. Matt Wiebe Constituency of Concordia

MANITOBA LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY Forty-First Legislature

Member	Constituency	Political Affiliation
ALLUM, James	Fort Garry-Riverview	NDP
ALTEMEYER, Rob	Wolseley	NDP
BINDLE, Kelly	Thompson	PC
CHIEF, Kevin	Point Douglas	NDP
CLARKE, Eileen, Hon.	Agassiz	PC
COX, Cathy, Hon.	River East	PC
CULLEN, Cliff, Hon.	Spruce Woods	PC
CURRY, Nic	Kildonan	PC
DRIEDGER, Myrna, Hon.	Charleswood	PC
EICHLER, Ralph, Hon.	Lakeside	PC
EWASKO, Wayne	Lac du Bonnet	PC
FIELDING, Scott, Hon.	Kirkfield Park	PC
FLETCHER, Steven, Hon.	Assiniboia	PC
FONTAINE, Nahanni	St. Johns	NDP
FRIESEN, Cameron, Hon.	Morden-Winkler	PC
GERRARD, Jon, Hon.	River Heights	Lib.
GOERTZEN, Kelvin, Hon.	Steinbach	PC
GRAYDON, Clifford	Emerson	PC
GUILLEMARD, Sarah	Fort Richmond	PC
HELWER, Reg	Brandon West	PC
ISLEIFSON, Len	Brandon East	PC
JOHNSON, Derek	Interlake	PC
JOHNSTON, Scott	St. James	PC
KINEW, Wab	Fort Rouge	NDP
KLASSEN, Judy	Kewatinook	Lib.
LAGASSÉ, Bob	Dawson Trail	PC
LAGIMODIERE, Alan	Selkirk	PC
LAMOUREUX, Cindy	Burrows	Lib.
LATHLIN, Amanda	The Pas	NDP
LINDSEY, Tom	Flin Flon	NDP
MALOWAY, Jim	Elmwood	NDP
MARCELINO, Flor	Logan	NDP
MARCELINO, Ted	Tyndall Park	NDP
MARTIN, Shannon	Morris	PC
MAYER, Colleen	St. Vital	PC
MICHALESKI, Brad	Dauphin	PC
MICKLEFIELD, Andrew	Rossmere	PC
MORLEY-LECOMTE, Janice	Seine River	PC
NESBITT, Greg	Riding Mountain	PC
PALLISTER, Brian, Hon.	Fort Whyte	PC
PEDERSEN, Blaine, Hon.	Midland	PC
PIWNIUK, Doyle	Arthur-Virden	PC
REYES, Jon	St. Norbert	PC
SARAN, Mohinder	The Maples	NDP
SCHULER, Ron, Hon.	St. Paul	PC
SELINGER, Greg	St. Boniface	NDP
	Southdale	PC
SMITH, Andrew		
SMOOK, Dennis	La Verendrye	PC
SQUIRES, Rochelle, Hon.	Riel	PC
STEFANSON, Heather, Hon.	Tuxedo	PC
SWAN, Andrew	Minto	NDP
TEITSMA, James	Radisson	PC
WHARTON, Jeff	Gimli	PC
WIEBE, Matt	Concordia	NDP
WISHART, Ian, Hon.	Portage la Prairie	PC
WOWCHUK, Rick YAKIMOSKI, Blair	Swan River Transcona	PC PC

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA THE STANDING COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

Monday, June 27, 2016

TIME - 3 p.m.

LOCATION - Winnipeg, Manitoba

CHAIRPERSON – Mr. Matt Wiebe (Concordia)

VICE-CHAIRPERSON – Mr. Reg Helwer (Brandon West)

ATTENDANCE – 10 QUORUM – 6

Members of the Committee present:

Messrs. Bindle, Helwer, Johnston, Maloway, Marcelino, Mrs. Mayer, Mr. Michaleski, Ms. Morley-Lecomte, Messrs. Wiebe, Yakimoski

MATTERS UNDER CONSIDERATION:

Election of the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson

* * *

Clerk Assistant (Mr. Andrea Signorelli): Good afternoon. Will the Standing Committee on Public Accounts please come to order.

Before the committee can proceed with the business before it, it must elect a new Chairperson.

Are there any nominations for this position?

Mr. Jim Maloway (Elmwood): Mr. Wiebe.

Clerk Assistant: Mr. Wiebe has been nominated. Are there any other nominations?

Hearing no other nominations, Mr. Wiebe, will you please take the Chair.

Mr. Chairperson: Our next item of business is the election of a Vice-Chairperson.

Are there any nominations for this position?

Ms. Janice Morley-Lecomte (Seine River): I nominate Reg Helwer.

Mr. Chairperson: Mr. Helwer has been nominated. Are there any other nominations?

Seeing none, I declare Mr. Helwer as the Vice-Chairperson.

In addition to electing a Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson, as in past years, the establishment of a steering committee, along with agreement to have separate pre-briefings with the Auditor General, is needed.

The purpose of the steering committee is to handle procedural or logistical matters, as well as any organizational issues.

Does the committee agree to establish a steering committee of the Standing Committee of Public Accounts, comprising of the Chairperson, the Vice-Chairperson, the Auditor General, a committee Clerk and the research officer? [Agreed]

Does the committee agree to have an—in camera pre-meeting briefing sessions with the Auditor General? [Agreed]

The hour being 3:08, what is the will of the committee?

Some Honourable Members: Committee rise.

Mr. Chairperson: Committee rise.

COMMITTEE ROSE AT: 3:08 p.m.

The Legislative Assembly of Manitoba Debates and Proceedings are also available on the Internet at the following address:

http://www.gov.mb.ca/legislature/hansard/hansard.html