## **Fourth Session - Fortieth Legislature**

of the

# Legislative Assembly of Manitoba Standing Committee on Legislative Affairs

Chairperson Ms. Nancy Allan Constituency of St. Vital

# MANITOBA LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY Fortieth Legislature

Member	Constituency	Political Affiliation
ALLAN, Nancy	St. Vital	NDP
ALLUM, James, Hon.	Fort Garry-Riverview	NDP
ALTEMEYER, Rob	Wolseley	NDP
ASHTON, Steve, Hon.	Thompson	NDP
BJORNSON, Peter	Gimli	NDP
BLADY, Sharon, Hon.	Kirkfield Park	NDP
BRAUN, Erna, Hon.	Rossmere	NDP
BRIESE, Stuart	Agassiz	PC
CALDWELL, Drew, Hon.	Brandon East	NDP
CHIEF, Kevin, Hon.	Point Douglas	NDP
CHOMIAK, Dave, Hon.	Kildonan	NDP
CROTHERS, Deanne, Hon.	St. James	NDP
CULLEN, Cliff	Spruce Woods	PC
DEWAR, Greg, Hon.	Selkirk	NDP
DRIEDGER, Myrna	Charleswood	PC
EICHLER, Ralph	Lakeside	PC
EWASKO, Wayne	Lac du Bonnet	PC
FRIESEN, Cameron	Morden-Winkler	PC
GAUDREAU, Dave	St. Norbert	NDP
GERRARD, Jon, Hon.	River Heights	Liberal
GOERTZEN, Kelvin	Steinbach	PC
GRAYDON, Cliff	Emerson	PC
HELWER, Reg	Brandon West	PC
HOWARD, Jennifer	Fort Rouge	NDP
IRVIN-ROSS, Kerri, Hon.	Fort Richmond	NDP
JHA, Bidhu	Radisson	NDP
KOSTYSHYN, Ron, Hon.	Swan River	NDP
LATHLIN, Amanda	The Pas	NDP
LEMIEUX, Ron, Hon.	Dawson Trail	NDP
MACKINTOSH, Gord, Hon.	St. Johns	NDP
MALOWAY, Jim	Elmwood	NDP
MARCELINO, Flor, Hon.	Logan	NDP
MARCELINO, Ted	Tyndall Park	NDP
MARTIN, Shannon	Morris	PC
MELNICK, Christine	Riel	NDP
MITCHELSON, Bonnie	River East	PC
NEVAKSHONOFF, Thomas, Hon.	Interlake	NDP
OSWALD, Theresa	Seine River	NDP
PALLISTER, Brian	Fort Whyte	PC
PEDERSEN, Blaine	Midland	PC
PETTERSEN, Clarence	Flin Flon	NDP
PIWNIUK, Doyle	Arthur-Virden	PC
REID, Daryl, Hon.	Transcona	NDP
ROBINSON, Eric, Hon.	Kewatinook	NDP
RONDEAU, Jim	Assiniboia	NDP
ROWAT, Leanne	Riding Mountain	PC
SARAN, Mohinder, Hon.	The Maples	NDP
SCHULER, Ron	St. Paul	PC
SELBY, Erin	Southdale	NDP
SELINGER, Greg, Hon.	St. Boniface	NDP
SMOOK, Dennis	La Verendrye	PC
STEFANSON, Heather	Tuxedo	PC
STRUTHERS, Stan	Dauphin	NDP
SWAN, Andrew	Minto	NDP
WIEBE, Matt	Concordia	NDP
WIGHT, Melanie, Hon.	Burrows	NDP
WISHART, Ian	Portage la Prairie	PC

# LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

### THE STANDING COMMITTEE ON LEGISLATIVE AFFAIRS

**Monday, June 1, 2015** 

TIME - 12:15 p.m.

LOCATION - Winnipeg, Manitoba

CHAIRPERSON - Ms. Nancy Allan (St. Vital)

VICE-CHAIRPERSON – Mr. Matt Wiebe (Concordia)

ATTENDANCE – 11 QUORUM – 6

Members of the Committee present:

Hon. Mr. Chomiak, Hon. Ms. Wight

Ms. Allan, Messrs. Altemeyer, Eichler, Ewasko, Goertzen, Helwer, Jha, Rondeau, Wiebe

### **MATTERS UNDER CONSIDERATION:**

The process for hiring a new Auditor General

\* \* \*

**Madam Chairperson:** Good afternoon-yes, it is good afternoon. Will the Standing Committee on Legislative Affairs please come to order.

Our first item of business is the election of a Vice-Chairperson. Are there any nominations for this position?

**Hon. Dave Chomiak (Minister of Mineral Resources):** I nominate Matt Wiebe.

Madam Chairperson: Matt Wiebe has been nominated.

Are there any other nominations?

Hearing no other nominations, Matt Wiebe is elected Vice-Chairperson.

This meeting has been-order, order, order.

This meeting has been called to consider the report and recommendation from the subcommittee regarding the recruitment and selection of the Auditor General.

Before we get started, I have a few points of information for the committee. For your reference, copies of the applicable legislation for this position have been provided for members of the committee. I would note that section 3(1) of The Auditor General Act states that "the President of the Executive Council must convene a meeting of the Standing Committee on Legislative Affairs if (a) the office of

the Auditor General is vacant; (b) the term of the Auditor General in office will expire within 12 months; or (c) the Auditor General has resigned and the resignation takes effect within 12 months."

In this case, the office is currently vacant.

How long does the committee wish to sit this afternoon?

**Mr. Kelvin Goertzen (Steinbach):** Madam Chairperson, until the work of the committee is complete.

Madam Chairperson: Is it agreed? [Agreed]

So we have agreed that we will sit until the work is completed.

As we will be dealing with the report and recommendation from the subcommittee regarding the recruitment and selection of the Auditor General, following past practices, committee should continue this meeting in camera. Once we have concluded that discussion, we can resume our proceedings on the record.

Before dealing with the motion to meet in camera, I would like to remind members that only MLAs who are members of this committee and the committee Clerk may attend. However, since Honourable Mr. Gerrard was serving on the subcommittee pertaining to this matter, is it the will of this committee to allow him to attend the in camera proceedings? [Agreed]

Thank you.

As well, does the committee grant permission for the Legislative Assembly Human Resources office staff to attend the in camera proceedings? [Agreed]

**Mr. Chomiak:** I move that the Standing Committee on Legislative Affairs now meet in camera.

Motion presented.

**Madam Chairperson:** The motion is in order. The floor is open for questions.

Is the committee ready for the question?

**Some Honourable Members:** Question.

\* (12:20)

**Madam Chairperson:** Shall the motion pass? [Agreed]

The committee went in camera at 12:20 p.m.

The committee resumed at 12:30 p.m.

**Madam Chairperson:** We are back. We are now on record.

Due to the nature of the items under discussion at today's meeting, I would like to inform that appointments or reappointments like this would not be made public until all MLAs are advised by the way of the committee report.

I'd like to thank the committee for your work here today. I would also like to thank the members of the subcommittee for their—for your efforts as well as the members of our expert advisory panel for their hard work and their dedication throughout this process.

That concludes the business before the committee. Are there any other comments?

The hour being 12:31, what is the will of the committee?

Some Honourable Members: Rise.

Madam Chairperson: Committee rise.

COMMITTEE ROSE AT: 12:31 p.m.

The Legislative Assembly of Manitoba Debates and Proceedings are also available on the Internet at the following address:

http://www.gov.mb.ca/legislature/hansard/hansard.html