Fourth Session - Thirty-Ninth Legislature

of the

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba Standing Committee on Public Accounts

Chairperson Mr. Leonard Derkach Constituency of Russell

MANITOBA LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY Thirty-Ninth Legislature

Member	Constituency	Political Affiliation
ALLAN, Nancy, Hon.	St. Vital	N.D.P.
ALTEMEYER, Rob	Wolseley	N.D.P.
ASHTON, Steve, Hon.	Thompson	N.D.P.
BJORNSON, Peter, Hon.	Gimli	N.D.P.
BLADY, Sharon	Kirkfield Park	N.D.P.
BLAIKIE, Bill, Hon.	Elmwood	N.D.P.
BOROTSIK, Rick	Brandon West	P.C.
BRAUN, Erna	Rossmere	N.D.P.
BRICK, Marilyn	St. Norbert	N.D.P.
BRIESE, Stuart	Ste. Rose	P.C.
CALDWELL, Drew	Brandon East	N.D.P.
CHOMIAK, Dave, Hon.	Kildonan	N.D.P.
CULLEN, Cliff	Turtle Mountain	P.C.
DERKACH, Leonard	Russell	P.C.
DEWAR, Gregory	Selkirk	N.D.P.
DRIEDGER, Myrna	Charleswood	P.C.
DYCK, Peter	Pembina	P.C.
EICHLER, Ralph	Lakeside	P.C.
FAURSCHOU, David	Portage la Prairie	P.C.
GERRARD, Jon, Hon.	River Heights	Lib.
GOERTZEN, Kelvin	Steinbach	P.C.
GRAYDON, Cliff	Emerson	P.C.
HAWRANIK, Gerald	Lac du Bonnet	P.C.
HICKES, George, Hon.	Point Douglas	N.D.P.
HOWARD, Jennifer, Hon.	Fort Rouge	N.D.P.
IRVIN-ROSS, Kerri, Hon.	Fort Garry	N.D.P.
JENNISSEN, Gerard	Flin Flon	N.D.P.
JHA, Bidhu	Radisson	N.D.P.
KORZENIOWSKI, Bonnie	St. James	N.D.P.
LAMOUREUX, Kevin	Inkster	Lib.
LEMIEUX, Ron, Hon.	La Verendrye	N.D.P.
MACKINTOSH, Gord, Hon.	St. Johns	N.D.P.
MAGUIRE, Larry	Arthur-Virden	P.C.
MARCELINO, Flor, Hon.	Wellington	N.D.P.
MARTINDALE, Doug	Burrows	N.D.P.
McFADYEN, Hugh	Fort Whyte	P.C.
McGIFFORD, Diane, Hon.	Lord Roberts	N.D.P.
MELNICK, Christine, Hon.	Riel	N.D.P.
MITCHELSON, Bonnie	River East	P.C.
NEVAKSHONOFF, Tom	Interlake	N.D.P.
OSWALD, Theresa, Hon.	Seine River	N.D.P.
PEDERSEN, Blaine	Carman	P.C.
REID, Daryl	Transcona	N.D.P.
ROBINSON, Eric, Hon.	Rupertsland	N.D.P.
RONDEAU, Jim, Hon.	Assiniboia	N.D.P.
ROWAT, Leanne	Minnedosa	P.C.
SARAN, Mohinder	The Maples	N.D.P.
SCHULER, Ron	Springfield	P.C.
SELBY, Erin	Southdale St. Domiform	N.D.P.
SELINGER, Greg, Hon.	St. Boniface	N.D.P.
STEFANSON, Heather	Tuxedo	P.C.
STRUTHERS, Stan, Hon.	Dauphin-Roblin	N.D.P.
SWAN, Andrew, Hon.	Minto	N.D.P.
TAILLIEU, Mavis	Morris	P.C.
WHITEHEAD, Frank	The Pas	N.D.P.
WOWCHUK, Rosann, Hon.	Swan River	N.D.P.
Vacant	Concordia	

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA THE STANDING COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

Monday, December 14, 2009

TIME - 5 p.m.

LOCATION - Winnipeg, Manitoba

CHAIRPERSON - Mr. Leonard Derkach (Russell)

VICE-CHAIRPERSON – Mr. Greg Dewar (Selkirk)

ATTENDANCE – 10 QUORUM – 6

Members of the Committee present:

Honourable Ms. Wowchuk

Mr. Borotsik, Mses. Braun, Brick, Messrs. Derkach, Dewar, Jha, Lamoureux, Maguire, Martindale

MATTERS UNDER CONSIDERATION:

To consider the election of a vice-chairperson

* * *

Mr. Chairperson: Will the meeting of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts please come to order.

Ladies and gentlemen, tonight we do not have a formal agenda on our table except for the nomination and the selection of a Vice-Chairperson for the Public Accounts Committee, and so, formally, I have to say we are currently—we currently have a vacancy in this position of Vice-Chairperson for this

committee. Are there any nominations for this position?

Mr. Doug Martindale (Burrows): I nominate Mr. Dewar as Vice-Chair of Public Accounts Committee.

Mr. Chairperson: Mr. Dewar, Selkirk, has been nominated. Are there any other nominations? Are there any other nominations? Are there any other nominations? Hearing none, Mr. Greg Dewar is elected as Vice-Chair of this committee.

Just before we adjourn, I would like to also invite members of the steering committee who include the Vice-Chair, the Auditor, and the Clerk of Committees to a steering committee meeting tomorrow afternoon in my office at 3 o'clock. Now, if there are any problems with the time, please let me know, but if we can meet at that time, it'll allow us to sort of get a preliminary reading of where we are and where we need to go.

So the hour being 5:05, what is the will of the committee?

Some Honourable Members: The committee rise.

Mr. Chairperson: The committee rise. Thank you very much.

COMMITTEE ROSE AT: 5:05 p.m.

The Legislative Assembly of Manitoba Debates and Proceedings are also available on the Internet at the following address:

http://www.gov.mb.ca/legislature/hansard/index.html