

Third Session - Thirty-Fifth Legislature

of the

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

STANDING COMMITTEE

on

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

39-40 Elizabeth II

Chairperson Mr. Bob Rose Constituency of Turtle Mountain



VOL. XLI No. 4 - 8:00 p.m., TUESDAY, APRIL 28, 1992

MANITOBA LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY Thirty-Fifth Legislature

Members, Constituencies and Political Affiliation

.

NAME	CONSTITUENCY	PARTY
ALCOCK, Reg	Osborne	Liberal
ASHTON, Steve	Thompson	NDP
BARRETT, Becky	Wellington	NDP
CARSTAIRS, Sharon	River Heights	Liberal
CERILLI, Marianne	Radisson	NDP
CHEEMÁ, Gulzar	The Maples	Liberal
CHOMIAK, Dave	Kildonan	NDP
CONNERY, Edward	Portage la Prairie	PC
CUMMINGS, Glen, Hon.	Ste. Rose	PC
DACQUAY, Louise	Seine River	PC
DERKACH, Leonard, Hon.	Roblin-Russell	PC
DEWAR, Gregory	Selkirk	NDP
DOER, Gary	Concordia	NDP
DOWNEY, James, Hon.	Arthur-Virden	PC
DRIEDGER, Albert, Hon.	Steinbach	PC
DUCHARME, Gerry, Hon.	Riel	PC
EDWARDS, Paul	St. James	Liberal
ENNS, Harry, Hon.	Lakeside	PC
ERNST, Jim, Hon.	Charleswood	PC
EVANS, Clif	Interlake	NDP
EVANS, Leonard S.	Brandon East	NDP
FILMON, Gary, Hon.	Tuxedo	PC
FINDLAY, Glen, Hon.	Springfield	PC
FRIESEN, Jean	Wolseley	NDP
GAUDRY, Neil	St. Boniface	Liberal
GILLESHAMMER, Harold, Hon.	Minnedosa	PC
HARPER, Elijah	Rupertsland	NDP
HELWER, Edward R.	Gimli	PC
HICKES, George	Point Douglas	NDP
LAMOUREUX, Kevin	Inkster	Liberal
LATHLIN, Oscar	The Pas	NDP
LAURENDEAU, Marcel	St. Norbert	PC
MALOWAY, Jim	Elmwood	NDP
MANNESS, Clayton, Hon.	Morris	PC
MARTINDALE, Doug	Burrows	NDP
McALPINE, Gerry	Sturgeon Creek	PC
McCRAE, James, Hon.	Brandon West	PC
McINTOSH, Linda, Hon.	Assiniboia	PC
MITCHELSON, Bonnie, Hon.	River East	PC
NEUFELD, Harold	Rossmere	PC
ORCHARD, Donald, Hon.	Pembina	PC
PENNER, Jack	Emerson	PC
PLOHMAN, John	Dauphin	NDP
PRAZNIK, Darren, Hon.	Lac du Bonnet	PC
REID, Daryl	Transcona	NDP
REIMER, Jack	Niakwa	PC PC
RENDER, Shirley	St. Vital	PC
ROCAN, Denis, Hon.	Gladstone	PC
ROSE, Bob	Turtle Mountain Broadway	NDP
SANTOS, Conrad	Broadway Kirkfield Park	PC
STEFANSON, Eric, Hon.	Flin Flon	NDP
	La Verendrye	PC
SVEINSON, Ben VODBEX, Basemary, Han	Fort Garry	PC
VODREY, Rosemary, Hon. WASYLYCIA-LEIS, Judy	St. Johns	NDP
WASTLICIA-LEIS, Judy WOWCHUK, Rosann	Swan River	NDP

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA THE STANDING COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Tuesday, April 28, 1992

TIME – 8 p.m.

LOCATION - Winnipeg, Manitoba

CHAIRPERSON – Mr. Bob Rose (Turtle Mountain)

ATTENDANCE - 8 - QUORUM - 6

Members of the Committee present:

Hon. Messrs. Downey, Driedger, Enns, Ernst Messrs. Helwer, Lamoureux, Mrs. Render, Mr. Rose

MATTERS UNDER DISCUSSION:

Annual Report of the Communities Economic Development Fund for the year ended March 31, 1991

* * *

Mr. Chalrperson: Will the committee please come to order. This committee will consider the Annual Report of the Communities Economic Development Fund for the fiscal period ending March 31, 1991.

For the committee's information, copies of the Annual Report of the Communities Economic Development Fund are available at the front table.

Does the committee wish to fix a time of adjournment?

An Honourable Member: Ten o'clock.

Mr. Chairperson: Ten o'clock. Agreed.

Mr. Kevin Lamoureux (Inkster): Mr. Chairperson, I do not have any problem with doing that at this point, but I would ask the minister if he could get back to me with some more details in terms of the 1990 as compared to 1991, where we see less jobs being created and in fact less grants that were given out but the dollar value has actually increased. On that condition, I do not see any problem.

Hon. James Downey (Minister responsible for and charged with the administration of The Communities Economic Development Fund Act): Mr. Chairperson, I will provide that information for the member.

Mr. Chalrperson: Does the minister responsible wish to make an opening statement?

Mr. Downey: I am prepared to pass the report.

Mr. Chalrperson: Does the critic for the official opposition have an opening statement?

Does the critic for the second opposition have an opening statement?

Mr. Lamoureux: Mr. Chairperson, with that qualification I am quite prepared to pass the report right now.

Mr. Chairperson: Shall the Annual Report for the Communities Economic Development Fund for the fiscal year ending March 31, 1991 pass-pass.

That concludes the matter under discussion for this committee. I would like to thank the minister and his staff from the Communities Economic Development Fund. I would also like to thank the committee for their contribution this evening.

Committee rise.

COMMITTEE ROSE AT: 8:09 p.m.