TO THE HONOURABLE THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

Your Standing Committee on Social and Economic Development presents the following as its Fifth Report.

Meetings

Your Committee met on April 14, 2021 at 6:00 p.m. in Room 254 of the Legislative Building.

Matters under Consideration

• **Bill (No. 45)** – The Public Schools Amendment and Manitoba Teachers' Society Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les écoles publiques et la Loi sur l'Association des enseignants du Manitoba

Committee Membership

- Mr. Altomare
- Hon. Mr. CULLEN
- Hon. Mrs. GUILLEMARD
- Mr. JOHNSTON
- Ms. NAYLOR
- Mr. PIWNIUK

Your Committee elected Mr. PIWNIUK as the Chairperson.

Your Committee elected Mr. JOHNSTON as the Vice-Chairperson.

As per the Sessional Order passed by the House on October 7, 2020 and further amended on December 3, 2020, Rule 83(2) was waived for the April 14, 2021 meeting, reducing the membership to six Members (4 Government and 2 Official Opposition).

Non-Committee Members Speaking on Record

• Ms. LAMOUREUX

Public Presentations

Your Committee heard the following 13 presentations on **Bill (No. 45)** – The Public Schools Amendment and Manitoba Teachers' Society Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les écoles publiques et la Loi sur l'Association des enseignants du Manitoba:

Alan Campbell	Manitoba School Boards Association
Donald Nikkel	Lakeshore School Division
James Bedford	Manitoba Teachers' Society
John Wiens	Private Citizen
Anne Lindsay	Thompson Teachers' Association
Chance Henderson	Mountainview Teachers' Association
Anna-Maria Coniglio	Private Citizen
Kevin Rebeck	Manitoba Federation of Labour
Mark Behrendt	Private Citizen
Kelly Friesen	Private Citizen
Jan McIntyre	Prairie Spirit School Division
Lise Legal	Pembina Trails Teachers' Association
Nancy Karpinsky	Private Citizen

Written Submissions

Your Committee received the following 14 written submissions on **Bill (No. 45)** – The Public Schools Amendment and Manitoba Teachers' Society Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les écoles publiques et la Loi sur l'Association des enseignants du Manitoba:

Jay Ewert	Evergreen Teachers' Association
Marcela Cabezas	Louis Riel Teachers' Association
Lindsay Vieira	Private Citizen
Rowena Lavarias	Private Citizen
Julie Ching	Private Citizen

Private Citizen Nicole Peake Cameron Watson Pine Creek Teachers' Association William L Taylor Private Citizen Vanessa Lylyk Private Citizen Maureen Ferley Private Citizen Jerry Sodomlak River East Transcona School Division Lynsey Lodge Private Citizen Justin Rempel Private Citizen Charlene Sacher Private Citizen

Bills Considered and Reported

• Bill (No. 45) – The Public Schools Amendment and Manitoba Teachers' Society Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les écoles publiques et la Loi sur l'Association des enseignants du Manitoba

Your Committee agreed to report this Bill without amendment.

Submitted by,

Mr. Doyle PIWNIUK, Chairperson April 14, 2021