TO THE HONOURABLE THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

Your Standing Committee on Legislative Affairs presents the following as its Fifth Report.

Meetings

Your Committee met on April 12, 2021 at 6:00 p.m. in Room 255 of the Legislative Building.

Matters under Consideration

- **Bill (No. 8)** The Pension Benefits Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les prestations de pension
- **Bill (No. 11)** The Workplace Safety and Health Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur la sécurité et l'hygiène du travail
- Bill (No. 18) The Workers Compensation Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les accidents du travail

Committee Membership

- Hon. Mr. FIELDING
- Hon. Mrs. GUILLEMARD
- Mr. LINDSEY
- Mr. REYES (Chairperson)
- Mr. Wasyliw
- Mr. WISHART

Your Committee elected Mr. WISHART as the Vice-Chairperson.

Non-Committee Members Speaking on Record

• Mr. LAMONT

As per the Sessional Order passed by the House on October 7, 2020 and further amended on December 3, 2020, Rule 83(2) was waived for the April 12, 2021 meeting, reducing the membership to six Members (4 Government and 2 Official Opposition).

Public Presentations

Your Committee heard the following 10 presentations on **Bill (No. 8)** – The Pension Benefits Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les prestations de pension:

Kevin Rebeck Manitoba Federation of Labour

Romeo Ignacio Amalgamated Transit Union Local 1505

Michelle Gawronsky President, Manitoba Government and General Employees Union

Don Mackinnon Private citizer

Martin McInnesCo-operative Superannuation Society Pension PlanRobert MorozManitoba Association of Health Care ProfessionalsJeff TraegerUnited Food and Commercial Workers Local 832

Mike Sutherland Manitoba Nurses Union

Matt McLean Canadian Union of Public Employees

Paul McKie Manitoba/Saskatchewan Area Director, Unifor

Your Committee heard the following six presentations on **Bill (No. 11)** – The Workplace Safety and Health Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur la sécurité et l'hygiène du travail:

Kevin Rebeck Manitoba Federation of Labour

Romeo Ignacio Amalgamated Transit Union Local 1505

Michelle Gawronsky President, Manitoba Government and General Employees Union

Robert Moroz Manitoba Association of Health Care Professionals

Mike Sutherland Manitoba Nurses Union

Stephen Terichow Parrott Canadian Union of Public Employees

Your Committee heard the following seven presentations on **Bill (No. 18)** – The Workers Compensation Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les accidents du travail:

Kevin Rebeck Manitoba Federation of Labour

Romeo Ignacio Amalgamated Transit Union Local 1505

Michelle Gawronsky President, Manitoba Government and General Employees Union

Curt Martel Private citizen

Robert Moroz Manitoba Association of Health Care Professionals

Mike Sutherland Manitoba Nurses Union

Phil Kraychuk Private citizen

Written Submissions

Your Committee received the following written submission on **Bill (No. 8)** – The Pension Benefits Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les prestations de pension:

Margaret Myles Private citizen

Bills Considered and Reported

• Bill (No. 8) – The Pension Benefits Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les prestations de pension

Your Committee agreed to report this Bill without amendment.

• Bill (No. 11) – The Workplace Safety and Health Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur la sécurité et l'hygiène du travail

Your Committee agreed to report this Bill without amendment.

• **Bill (No. 18)** – The Workers Compensation Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les accidents du travail

Your Committee agreed to report this Bill without amendment.

Mr. Jon REYES, Chairperson
April 12, 2021