TO THE HONOURABLE THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

Your Standing Committee on Social and Economic Development presents the following as its Third Report.

Meetings

Your Committee met on the following occasions in the Legislative Building:

- May 9, 2018 at 6:00 p.m.
- May 14, 2018 at 6:00 p.m.
- May 15, 2018 at 6:00 p.m.

Matters under Consideration

• **Bill (No. 19)** – The Planning Amendment Act (Improving Efficiency in Planning)/Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'aménagement du territoire (efficacité accrue)

Committee Membership

Committee Membership for the May 9, 2018 meeting:

- Mr. ALLUM
- Hon. Mr. EICHLER
- Hon. Mr. GERRARD
- Mr. LAGASSÉ
- Mr. LINDSEY
- Ms. MARCELINO
- Mr. MARTIN
- Mr. MICKLEFIELD
- Mr. MICHALESKI
- Mr. SMOOK (*Chairperson*)
- Hon. Mr. WHARTON

Your Committee elected Mr. MICKLEFIELD as the Vice-Chairperson at the May 9, 2018 meeting.

Committee Membership for the May 14, 2018 meeting:

- Mr. ALLUM
- Hon. Mr. EICHLER
- Ms. FONTAINE
- Ms. KLASSEN
- Mr. LAGIMODIERE
- Mr. LINDSEY
- Mr. PIWNIUK
- Mr. SMOOK (*Chairperson*)
- Mr. TEITSMA
- Hon. Mr. WHARTON
- Hon. Mr. WISHART

Your Committee elected Mr. TEITSMA as the Vice-Chairperson at the May 14, 2018 meeting.

Committee Membership for the May 15, 2018 meeting:

- Hon. Ms. CLARKE
- Hon. Mr. EICHLER
- Mr. EWASKO
- Hon. Mr. GERRARD
- Mr. ISLEIFSON
- Mr. LAGASSÉ
- Mr. LINDSEY
- Mrs. SMITH (Point Douglas)
- Mr. SMOOK (*Chairperson*)
- Mr. SWAN
- Hon. Mr. WHARTON

Your Committee elected Mr. ISLEIFSON as the Vice-Chairperson at the May 15, 2018 meeting.

Public Presentations

Your Committee heard the following 29 presentations on **Bill (No. 19)** – The Planning Amendment Act (Improving Efficiency in Planning)/Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'aménagement du territoire (efficacité accrue):

May 9, 2018

Wiay 9, 2010	
1. Chris Goertzen	Association of Manitoba Municipalities
2. Kim MacAulay	Manitoba Community Newspapers Association
3. Chris Lorenc	Manitoba Heavy Construction Association
4. Charles Chappell	Private Citizen
5. Christine Waddell & Ken	Private Citizen
Waddell (by leave)	
6. Jill Verwey	Keystone Agricultural Producers
7. Brent Wright	Private Citizen
8. Mark Buss	Clipper Publishing
9. John Kendle	Canstar Community News
10. Jim Mihaly	Brandon Sun
11. Jay Struth	The Killarney Guide
May 14, 2018	
12. Bob Cox	Winnipeg Free Press
13. Will Reimer	Private Citizen
14. Laurie Finley	Steinbach Carillon
May 15, 2018	
15. Ruth Pryzner	Private Citizen
16. Joe Dolecki	Private Citizen
17. Mike Teillet	Private Citizen
18. George Matheson	Manitoba Pork Council
19. Andrew Dickson	Private Citizen
20. Elisabeth Saftiuk	Manitoba Professional Planners Institute
21. Accalia Robertson	Private Citizen
22. Lindy Clubb	Mixedwood Forest Society
23. Bill Massey	Private Citizen
24. David Nickarz	Green Party
25. Evan Rodgers	Maple Leaf Foods
26. Frances Smee	R.M. of Rosser
27. Matt Reimer	HyLife
28. Catherine King	Private Citizen
29. Vicki Burns	Hog Watch Manitoba

Written Submissions

Your Committee received the following 22 written submissions on **Bill (No. 19)** – The Planning Amendment Act (Improving Efficiency in Planning)/Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'aménagement du territoire (efficacité accrue):

Don Piett and Brenda Piett Harold Froese and Cory Rybuck Nancy Johnson John Fefchak Lynn Taylor Gail Halldorson Darryl Holyk	Southeast Journal Manitoba Egg Farmers Melita Era Private Citizen Thompson Citizen Private Citizen Minnedosa Tribune
Andrea Geary	Private Citizen
Shirley Hiebert	Private Citizen
Sheldon Birnie	Private Citizen
Betty Turner	Private Citizen
Darren Ridgley	Private Citizen
Ligia Braidotti	Times Newspaper
Wilma J. Struth	Private Citizen
Brian Gilroy	Swan Valley Star and Times
Gail H. Fisher	Private Citizen
Ben Fox	Manitoba Beef Producers
J Brodt	Private Citizen

Danielle Da Silva Vicki Wallace Simon Fuller Curtis Struth Private Citizen Southern Manitoba Review Private Citizen Private Citizen

Bills Considered and Reported

• Bill (No. 19) – The Planning Amendment Act (Improving Efficiency in Planning)/Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'aménagement du territoire (efficacité accrue)

Your Committee agreed to report this Bill, with one amendment, on a recorded vote of yeas six, nays four.

THAT Clause 32(2) of the Bill be amended by striking out "Sections 18, 20 and 26" *and substituting* "Section 18, subsection 19(2) and sections 20, 25 and 26".

Submitted by,