# TO THE HONOURABLE THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

Your Standing Committee on SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT presents the following as its Seventh Report.

## Meetings

Your Committee met on May 23, 2017 at 6:00 p.m. in Room 254 of the Legislative Building.

### **Matters under Consideration**

• **Bill (No. 33)** – The Minimum Wage Indexation Act (Employment Standards Code Amended)/Loi sur l'indexation du salaire minimum (modification du Code des normes d'emploi)

#### **Committee Membership**

- Mr. ALLUM
- Hon. Mr. CULLEN
- Hon. Mr. FIELDING
- Mr. HELWER
- Ms. LAMOUREUX
- Mr. LINDSEY
- Ms. MARCELINO (Logan)
- Ms. MORLEY-LECOMTE
- Mr. NESBITT
- Mr. PIWNIUK
- Mr. YAKIMOSKI (Vice-Chairperson)

Your Committee elected Mr. PIWNIUK as the Chairperson.

#### **Public Presentations**

Your Committee heard the following seventeen presentations on **Bill (No. 33)** – The Minimum Wage Indexation Act (Employment Standards Code Amended)/Loi sur l'indexation du salaire minimum (modification du Code des normes d'emploi):

James Rilett Kevin Rebeck Michelle Gawronsky

Bob Moroz Molly McCracken (*by leave*) Josh Brandon Jonathan Alward Darcy Penner Lynne Fernandez Loren Remillard Cory Kolt Michael Chin Scott Jocelyn Paul McKie Nicole Dvorak Matt McLean Carlos Sosa **Restaurants Canada** Manitoba Federation of Labour MGEU - Manitoba Government and General Employees Union Private Citizen Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives Make Poverty History Manitoba Canadian Federation of Independent Business The Canadian Community Economic Development Network Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives The Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce The Manitoba Chambers of Commerce Private Citizen Manitoba Hotel Association **UNIFOR** Private Citizen Canadian Union of Public Employees Private Citizen

# **Bill Considered and Reported**

• **Bill (No. 33)** – The Minimum Wage Indexation Act (Employment Standards Code Amended)/Loi sur l'indexation du salaire minimum (modification du Code des normes d'emploi)

Your Committee agreed to report this Bill, without amendment.

Submitted by,

Mr. Doyle PIWNUIK, Chairperson May 23, 2017