## TO THE HONOURABLE THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

Your Standing Committee on HUMAN RESOURCES presents the following as its First Report.

## Meetings

Your Committee met on the following occasions in the Legislative Building:

- September 9, 2015
- September 14, 2015
- September 29, 2015
- September 30, 2015

### **Matters under Consideration**

• **Bill (No. 30)** – The Non-Smokers Health Protection Amendment Act (E-Cigarettes)/Loi modifiant la Loi sur la protection de la santé des non-fumeurs (cigarettes électroniques)

## **Committee Membership**

Committee Membership for the September 9, 2015 meeting:

- Hon. Mr. CHIEF
- Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK
- Hon. Ms. CROTHERS
- Mrs. Driedger
- Mr. GRAYDON
- Mr. MARCELINO (Vice-Chairperson)
- Mr. Martin
- Mr. RONDEAU
- Mr. SWAN
- Mr. WISHART

Your Committee elected Mr. RONDEAU as the Chairperson at the September 9, 2015 meeting

Committee Membership for the September 14, 2015 meeting:

- Hon. Mr. ALLUM
- Mr. ALTEMEYER
- Hon. Ms. CROTHERS
- Mrs. Driedger
- Ms. LATHLIN
- Hon. Ms. MARCELINO
- Mr. MARTIN
- Mr. RONDEAU (Chairperson)
- Mr. SMOOK
- Hon. Ms. WIGHT
- Mr. WISHART

Your Committee elected Mr. ALTEMEYER as the Vice-Chairperson at the September 14, 2015 meeting

Committee Membership for the September 29, 2015 meeting:

- Hon. Mr. ALLUM
- Hon. Ms. CROTHERS
- Mr. CULLEN
- Mr. Friesen
- Mr. GAUDREAU
- Mr. Graydon
- Hon. Mr. KOSTYSHYN
- Mr. MARCELINO
- Mr. PEDERSEN
- Mr. SWAN
- Mr. WIEBE

Your Committee elected Mr. GAUDREAU as the Chairperson at the September 29, 2015 meeting.

Your Committee elected Mr. WIEBE as the Vice-Chairperson at the September 29, 2015 meeting.

Committee Membership for the September 30, 2015 meeting:

- Hon. Mr. ALLUM
- Hon. Ms. CROTHERS
- Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK
- Mr. GAUDREAU (Chairperson)
- Mr. GRAYDON
- Hon. Mr. LEMIEUX
- Mr. MARCELINO
- Mr. MARTIN
- Hon. Mr. NEVAKSHONOFF
- Mr. PIWNIUK
- Mr. SMOOK

Your Committee elected Mr. MARCELINO as the Vice-Chairperson at the September 30, 2015 meeting.

#### **Public Presentations**

Your Committee heard the following forty-four presentations on **Bill** (**No. 30**) – The Non-Smokers Health Protection Amendment Act (E-Cigarettes)/Loi modifiant la Loi sur la protection de la santé des non-fumeurs (cigarettes électroniques):

## September 9, 2015 meeting

Erin Crawford Canadian Cancer Society – Manitoba Office

Andrew Klukes Western Convenience Stores

Alex Scholten Canadian Convenience Stores Association

Beju Lakhani Canadian Vaping Association Tracy Fehr Manitoba Lung Association

Donald Reay Private Citizen

Christine Houde Heart and Stroke Foundation Jim Baker Manitoba Hotel Association

Garry Iwankow Private Citizen Kerwin Unger Private Citizen

#### September 14, 2015 meeting

Caroline Martel Nicoventures
Kathy Martin Private Citizen

Rob Cunningham Canadian Cancer Society – National Office

Charlene Haste Vapemate Eden Sorrell Theravape

Murray Gibson MANTRA – Manitoba Tobacco Reduction Alliance

Dr. Marcia Anderson-DeCoteau Winnipeg Regional Health Authority

Scott Jocelyn Manitoba Restaurant and Foodservices Association

Steven StairsPrivate CitizenShaun CroattoPrivate CitizenJim ChabaiVapetasticClayton OlsonPrivate CitizenJennifer VasasPrivate Citizen

# September 29, 2015 meeting

Nicole Gomes, Jade Solomon and Jenna Manitoba Swat (Student Working against Tobacco)

Kalinski (by leave)

Cindy Neniska Private Citizen

John Haste The Electronic Cigarette Trade Association

Cam Irving Private Citizen
Jordan Vedoya Fat Panda
Cierra Giesbrecht Private Citizen
Neil Migalski Private Citizen
Jason Doornink Private Citizen
Leroy Kehler Private Citizen

#### September 30, 2015 meeting

Suzane Bouchard Private Citizen Kyle Bloomfield Private Citizen Edward Wei Private Citizen Private Citizen Alexander Derksen Randy Klassen Private Citizen Will Cooke Private Citizen Leona Weday Private Citizen David Lofchick Private Citizen Stephanie Mitchell Private Citizen Craig Billows Private Citizen Thomas Glas Private Citizen Julie Wei Private Citizen

#### **Written Submissions**

Your Committee received the following fifteen written submissions on **Bill (No. 30)** – The Non-Smokers Health Protection Amendment Act (E-Cigarettes)/Loi modifiant la Loi sur la protection de la santé des non-fumeurs (cigarettes électroniques):

Melanie Koncur Private Citizen Gerald Dales Private Citizen Cristopher Britton Black Tie Vapour Private Citizen Matt Anderson Eric Mutter Private Citizen Kerry Miller Private Citizen Deanna Hinson Private Citizen Laura Cosford Private Citizen Allan Wald Private Citizen Ron Jerome Private Citizen Gord Tagg Private Citizen Tyler Korman Private Citizen Christine Dales Private Citizen Private Citizen David Ryman Private Citizen Brennden Mackenzie

## **Bill Considered and Reported**

• **Bill (No. 30)** – The Non-Smokers Health Protection Amendment Act (E-Cigarettes)/Loi modifiant la Loi sur la protection de la santé des non-fumeurs (cigarettes électroniques)

Your Committee agreed to report this Bill, with the following amendments:

THAT Clause 3 of the Bill be amended in the proposed definition "vapour product shop" by adding ", subject to any additional criteria specified in the regulations," after "means".

THAT Clause 15(1) of the Bill be amended in clause (a) by adding the following after the proposed clause 9(1)(a.0.1):

(a.0.2) specifying additional criteria for the purpose of the definition "vapour product shop";

THAT Clause 15(1) of the Bill be amended by deleting clause (b).

Mr. Dave Gaudreau, Chairperson September 30, 2015