TO THE HONOURABLE THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

Your Standing Committee on Legislative Affairs presents the following as its Second Report.

Meetings

Your Committee met on the following occasions in the Legislative Building:

- December 22, 2004 (3rd Session 38th Legislature)
- May 2, 2006 (4th Session 38th Legislature)
- July 10, 2008 (2nd Session 39th Legislature)
- May 25, 2009 (3rd Session 39th Legislature)
- March 10, 2010 (4th Session 39th Legislature)
- May 20, 2010 (4th Session 39th Legislature) June 13, 2012 (1st Session 40th Legislature) June 17, 2013 (2nd Session 40th Legislature

- January 9, 2014 (3rd Session 40th Legislature)

Matters under Consideration

- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2003 including the conduct of the 38th Provincial General Election June 3, 2003
- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2008
- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2009
- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2010 including the conduct of the Concordia by-election March 2, 2010
- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2011 including the conduct of the 40th Provincial General Election October 4, 2011
- Permanent Voters List Study Report dated June 2013
- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2012 including the conduct of the Fort Whyte by-election September 4, 2012

Committee Membership

Committee membership for the December 22, 2004 meeting:

- Hon. Mr. ASHTON
- Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK
- Mr. CUMMINGS
- Mr. DEWAR
- Hon. Mr. DOER
- Ms. IRVIN-ROSS (Vice-Chairperson)
- Ms. KORZENIOWSKI (Chairperson)
- Mr. LOEWEN
- Mr. MURRAY
- Mr. Penner
- Mr. SCHELLENBERG

Substitution made during committee proceedings on December 22, 2004:

Hon. Mr. MACKINTOSH for Mr. SCHELLENBERG

Committee membership for the May 2, 2006 meeting:

- Mr. DERKACH
- Mr. DEWAR
- Hon. Mr. DOER
- Mr. HAWRANIK
- Hon. Mr. LEMIEUX
- Hon. Mr. MACKINTOSH
- Mr. MARTINDALE
- Mrs. MITCHELSON
- Mr. REID (Chairperson)
- Mr. SCHELLENBERG (Vice-Chairperson)

Committee membership for the July 10, 2008 meeting:

- Hon. Mr. ASHTON
- Ms. Brick (Chairperson)
- Mr. DEWAR
- Hon. Mr. DOER
- Mr. GOERTZEN
- Mr. HAWRANIK
- Ms. HOWARD (Vice-Chairperson)
- Mr. McFadyen
- Hon. Ms. McGifford
- Hon, Mr. SWAN
- Mrs. TAILLIEU

Substitution made during committee proceedings on July 10, 2008:

• Mr. Faurschou for Mr. McFadyen

Committee membership for the May 25, 2009 meeting:

- Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK
- Mr. DERKACH
- Mr. DEWAR
- Hon. Mr. DOER
- Mr. FAURSCHOU
- Mr. GOERTZEN
- Ms. HOWARD (Chairperson)
- Mr. NEVAKSHONOFF (Vice-Chairperson)
- Mrs. TAILLIEU
- Hon. Mr. SWAN
- Hon. Ms. WOWCHUK

Substitution made during committee proceedings on May 25, 2009:

• Mr. MAGUIRE for Mr. FAURSCHOU

Committee membership for the March 10, 2010 meeting:

- Hon. Mr. BLAIKIE
- Ms. Brick (Vice-Chairperson)
- Mr. DERKACH
- Mr. EICHLER
- Mr. GOERTZEN
- Hon. Ms. HOWARD
- Mr. McFadyen
- Mr. REID (Chairperson)
- Hon. Mr. SELINGER
- Hon. Mr. STRUTHERS
- Hon. Mr. SWAN

Committee membership for the May 20, 2010 meeting:

- Mr. ALTEMEYER (Chairperson)
- Hon. Mr. BLAIKIE
- Ms. Brick (Vice-Chairperson)
- Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK
- Mr. EICHLER
- Mr. GOERTZEN
- Hon. Ms. IRVIN-ROSS
- Mr. McFadyen
- Mr. PEDERSEN
- Hon. Mr. SELINGER
- Hon. Mr. STRUTHERS

Committee membership for the June 13, 2012 meeting:

- Mr. Dewar
- Mr. Ewasko
- Mr. GAUDREAU (Vice-Chairperson)
- Mr. Goertzen
- Hon. Ms. HOWARD
- Mr. MARCELINO

- Mr. McFadyen
- Mr. NEVAKSHONOFF (Chairperson)
- Mr. SCHULER
- Hon. Mr. SELINGER
- Hon. Mr. SWAN

Committee membership for the June 17, 2013 meeting:

- Ms. Braun
- Mr. DEWAR
- Mr. GRAYDON
- Mr. HELWER
- Hon. Ms. HOWARD
- Hon. Ms. IRVIN-ROSS
- Mr. JHA
- Mr. NEVAKSHONOFF (Chairperson)
- Mr. Pallister
- Mr. PEDERSEN
- Hon. Mr. SELINGER

Your Committee elected Mr. JHA as the Vice-Chairperson.

Committee membership for the January 9, 2014 meeting:

- Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK
- Mr. CULLEN
- Mr. DEWAR
- Mr. GOERTZEN
- Mr. HELWER
- Mr. PEDERSEN
- Mr. SARAN (Vice-Chairperson)
- Hon. Mr. SELINGER
- Hon. Mr. SWAN
- Mr. WIEBE
- Ms. WIGHT (Chairperson)

Officials speaking on the record at the December 22, 2004 meeting:

• Mr. Richard D. Balasko, Chief Electoral Officer

Officials speaking on the record at the May 2, 2006 meeting:

• Mr. Richard D. Balasko, Chief Electoral Officer

Officials speaking on the record at the July 10, 2008 meeting:

• Mr. Richard D. Balasko, Chief Electoral Officer

Officials speaking on the record at the May 25, 2009 meeting:

• Mr. Richard D. Balasko, Chief Electoral Officer

Officials speaking on the record at the March 10, 2010 meeting:

Mr. Richard D. Balasko, Chief Electoral Officer

Officials speaking on the record at the May 20, 2010 meeting:

• Ms. Shipra Verma, Deputy Chief Electoral Officer

Officials speaking on the record at the June 13, 2012 meeting:

Ms. Shipra Verma, Deputy Chief Electoral Officer

Officials speaking on the record at the June 17, 2013 meeting:

• Ms. Shipra Verma, Deputy Chief Electoral Officer

Officials speaking on the record at the January 9, 2014 meeting:

• Ms. Shipra Verma, Chief Electoral Officer

Report Considered and Passed

Your Committee considered and passed the following report as presented:

• Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2003 including the conduct of the 38th Provincial General Election June 3, 2003

Reports Considered but not Passed

Your Committee considered the following reports but did not pass them:

- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2008
- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2009
- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2010 including the conduct of the Concordia by-election March 2, 2010
- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2011 including the conduct of the 40th Provincial General Election October 4, 2011
- Permanent Voters List Study Report dated June 2013
- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2012 including the conduct of the Fort Whyte by-election September 4, 2012

Cubacitta d lass
Submitted by,
Ms. Melanie WIGHT, Chairperson January 9, 2014