TO THE HONOURABLE THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

Your Standing Committee on Legislative Affairs presents the following as its Third Report.

Meetings

Your Committee met on the following occasions in the Legislative Building:

- December 22, 2004 (3rd Session 38th Legislature)
- May 2, 2006 (4th Session 38th Legislature)
- July 10, 2008 (2nd Session 39th Legislature)
- May 25, 2009 (3rd Session 39th Legislature)
- March 10, 2010 (4th Session 39th Legislature)
- May 20, 2010 (4th Session 39th Legislature)

Matters under Consideration

- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2003 including the conduct of the 38th Provincial General Election June 3, 2003
- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2006
- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2007 including the conduct of the 39th Provincial General Election May 22, 2007
- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2008

Committee Membership

Committee membership for the December 22, 2004 meeting:

- Hon. Mr. ASHTON
- Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK
- Hon. Mr. DOER
- Mr. CUMMINGS
- Mr. DEWAR
- Ms. IRVIN-ROSS (Vice-Chairperson)
- Ms. Korzeniowski (Chairperson)
- Mr. LOEWEN
- Mr. MURRAY
- Mr. Penner
- Mr. SCHELLENBERG

Substitution made during committee proceedings on December 22, 2004:

• Hon. Mr. MACKINTOSH for Mr. SCHELLENBERG

Committee membership for the May 2, 2006 meeting:

- Mr. DERKACH
- Mr. DEWAR
- Hon. Mr. DOER
- Mr. HAWRANIK
- Hon. Mr. LEMIEUX
- Hon. Mr. MACKINTOSH
- Mr. Martindale
- Mrs. MITCHELSON
- Mr. REID (Chairperson)
- Mr. ROCAN
- Mr. Schellenberg (Vice-Chairperson)

Committee membership for the July 10, 2008 meeting:

- Hon. Mr. ASHTON
- Ms. Brick (Chairperson)
- Mr. DEWAR
- Hon. Mr. DOER
- Mr GOERTZEN
- Mr. Hawranik
- Ms. HOWARD (Vice-Chairperson)
- Mr. McFadyen

- Hon. Ms. McGifford
- Hon. Mr. SWAN
- Mrs. TAILLIEU

Substitution made during committee proceedings on July 10, 2008:

• Mr. Faurschou for Mr. McFadyen

Committee membership for the May 25, 2009 meeting:

- Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK
- Mr. DERKACH
- Mr. DEWAR
- Hon. Mr. DOER
- Mr. FAURSCHOU
- Mr. GOERTZEN
- Ms. HOWARD (Chairperson)
- Mr. NEVAKSHONOFF (Vice-Chairperson)
- Mrs. TAILLIEU
- Hon. Mr. SWAN
- Hon. Ms. WOWCHUK

Substitution made during committee proceedings on May 25, 2009:

• Mr. Maguire for Mr. Faurschou

Committee membership for the March 10, 2010 meeting:

- Hon. Mr. BLAIKIE
- Ms. Brick (Vice-Chairperson)
- Mr. Derkach
- Mr. EICHLER
- Mr. GOERTZEN
- Hon. Ms. HOWARD
- Mr. McFadyen
- Mr. REID (Chairperson)
- Hon. Mr. SELINGER
- Hon. Mr. STRUTHERS
- Hon. Mr. SWAN

Committee membership for the May 20, 2010 meeting:

- Mr. Altemeyer
- Hon. Mr. BLAIKIE
- Ms. BRICK (Vice-Chairperson)
- Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK
- Mr. EICHLER
- Mr. GOERTZEN
- Hon. Ms. IRVIN-ROSS
- Mr. McFadyen
- Mr. PEDERSEN
- Hon. Mr. SELINGER
- Hon. Mr. STRUTHERS

Your Committee elected Mr. ALTEMEYER as the Chairperson.

Officials Speaking on Record

• Shipra Verma, Deputy Chief Electoral Officer

Motions

Your Committee agreed to the following motion:

• THAT the motion passed at January 21, 2010 meeting of the Standing Committee on Legislative Affairs be rescinded and replaced with the following:

THAT a subcommittee of the Standing Committee on Legislative Affairs be struck to manage the process of hiring a new Chief Electoral Officer;

THAT the subcommittee may only report back to the committee with a recommendation that has received a general level of acceptance by all members;

THAT the subcommittee consist of four government members, two official opposition members and one independent member;

THAT the subcommittee have the authority to call their own meetings, the ability to meet in camera, and be able to undertake duties it deems necessary in order to fulfil its responsibilities in the hiring process;

THAT the subcommittee appoint an expert advisory panel of three members to assist in the hiring process and ultimately provide the subcommittee with a prioritized list of candidates;

THAT the subcommittee establish the terms of reference for the expert advisory panel, and that Legislative Assembly staff may be authorized by the Chair to attend all meetings of the subcommittee and the expert advisory panel;

THAT during this process the House Leaders will meet to discuss changes to The Elections Act with regards to future appointments to the role of Chief Electoral Officer.

Reports Considered and Passed

Your Committee considered and passed the following report as presented:

• Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2006

Reports Considered but not Passed

Your Committee considered the following reports but did not pass them:

- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2003 including the conduct of the 38th Provincial General Election June 3, 2003
- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2007 including the conduct of the 39th Provincial General Election May 22, 2007
- Annual Report of Elections Manitoba for the year ending December 31, 2008

ig December 31, 2008	
Submitted by	.,
Submitted by	у,
Mr. Rob ALTEMEYER, Chairperso	n
May 20, 201	