TO THE HONOURABLE THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

Your Standing Committee on SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT presents the following as its Fifth Report.

Meetings

Your Committee met on the following occasions:

- Saturday June 7, 2008 at 10:00 a.m.
- Monday June 9, 2008 at 10:00 a.m.

All meetings were held in Room 254 of the Legislative Building.

Matters under Consideration

- **Bill (No. 2)** The Public Schools Amendment Act (Trans Fats and Nutrition)/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les écoles publiques (gras trans et nutrition)
- **Bill** (No. 24) The Public Schools Amendment Act (Cyber-Bullying and Use of Electronic Devices)/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les écoles publiques (cyberintimidation et utilisation de dispositifs électroniques)
- **Bill** (No. 28) The Strengthening Local Schools Act (Public Schools Act Amended)/Loi sur le renforcement des écoles locales (modification de la Loi sur les écoles publiques)

Committee Membership

Committee Membership for the Saturday June 7, 2008 meeting:

- Hon. Mr. BJORNSON
- Ms. BRAUN (Chairperson)
- Mr. CULLEN
- Mr. HAWRANIK
- Mr. JHA
- Ms. KORZENIOWSKI
- Hon. Ms. McGIFFORD
- Hon. Ms. OSWALD
- Hon. Mr. RONDEAU
- Mr. SCHULER
- Mrs. STEFANSON

Your Committee elected Ms. KORZENIOWSKI as the Vice-Chairperson.

Substitutions received during committee proceedings:

- Mr. REID for Mr. JHA
- Hon. Ms. IRVIN-ROSS for Mr. REID

Committee Membership for the June 9, 2008 10:00 a.m. meeting

Hon. Mr. BJORNSON

Ms. BRAUN (Chair)

Mr. CULLEN

Mr. DEWAR

Mrs. DRIEDGER

Mr. JHA

Ms. KORZENIOWSKI (Vice-Chairperson)

Ms. MARCELINO

Hon. Ms. OSWALD

Mr. SCHULER

Mrs. STEFANSON

Substitutions received during committee proceedings:

• Mr. MALOWAY for Mr. DEWAR

Public Presentations

Your Committee heard the following thirty-one presentations on Bill (No. 28) – The Strengthening Local Schools Act (Public Schools Act Amended)/Loi sur le renforcement des écoles locales (modification de la Loi sur les écoles publiques):

Victoria Schindle Argyle Community Action Group Joan Clement Park West School Division

Jennifer Berry Fisher Branch Parent Advisory Council
Teresa Johnson Ashern-Moosehorn Parent Advisory Council

Beth Geisel Mountain View School Division Craig Whyte Kenton Community School

Debby Lee Private Citizen

Jim Murray Brandon School Division

Margaret Anderson Private Citizen

Bruce Alexander The Manitoba Association of School Trustees
Lawrence Lussier Manitoba Association of School Superintendents

Bruce Alexander St. James Assiniboia School Division
Craig Stahlke Pembina Trails School Division

Shannon Forest Private Citizen

Bob Fraser River East Transcona School Division

Anna-Marie Westervelt Private Citizen

Cheryl ZelenitskyEvergreen School DivisionDebbie McMechanPierson Advisory CouncilTom ParkerLouis Riel School DivisionColin CraigCanadian Taxpayers Federation

Leanne Carlson Private Citizen

Karen Carey Sunrise School Division Gordon Shead Frontier School Division

Gladys Hayward Williams Private Citizen

Jan McIntyre Prairie Spirit School Division
Colleen Claggett-Woods Prairie Rose School Division

Randy Aitken Private Citizen Larry Oakden Private Citizen

Jason Koscielny Strathclair Community School Catchment Area Committee Shonda Ashcroft Birtle & District Community Development Corporation

George Marshall Private Citizen

Written Submissions

Your Committee received the following one written submission on Bill (No. 2) – The Public Schools Amendment Act (Trans Fats and Nutrition)/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les écoles publiques (gras trans et nutrition):

Jim Goetz Vice President, Food and Consumer Products of Canada

Your Committee received the following sixteen written submissions on Bill (No. 28) – The Strengthening Local Schools Act (Public Schools Act Amended)/Loi sur le renforcement des écoles locales (modification de la Loi sur les écoles publiques):

Pat Isaak President, The Manitoba Teacher's Society

Murray Skeavington Chair, Flin Flon School Division
Kelvin Dyck Chair, Garden Valley School Division

Wendy Bloomfield Seine River School Division

Linda Buchanan Chair, Kelsey School Division Board of Trustees

Denise Dewar Strathclair Community School Advisory Council for School

Leadership

Jill Kosowan Private Citizen

Bill Clark Reeve, R.M. of Miniota

Tracie Cousins Miniota Parent Council Advisory

Jaime GlenatPrivate CitizenEd LelondPrivate CitizenRobert DyckPrivate Citizen

Valerie Weiss Interlake School Division

Jennifer Stefanec Resident Representative of the Chapman School Review

Committee

Charles Morrison

Kristine K. Barr

Board Chair, Portage La Prairie School Division

Board Chair, The Winnipeg School Division

Bills Considered and Reported

• **Bill (No. 2)** – The Public Schools Amendment Act (Trans Fats and Nutrition)/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les écoles publiques (gras trans et nutrition)

Your Committee agreed to report this Bill without amendment.

• Bill (No. 24) – The Public Schools Amendment Act (Cyber-Bullying and Use of Electronic Devices)/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les écoles publiques (cyberintimidation et utilisation de dispositifs électroniques)

Your Committee agreed to report this Bill without amendment.

• Bill (No. 28) – The Strengthening Local Schools Act (Public Schools Act Amended)/Loi sur le renforcement des écoles locales (modification de la Loi sur les écoles publiques)

Your Committee agreed to report this Bill, with the following amendment:

THAT Clause 2 of the Bill be amended by striking out the proposed subsection 41(1.4).

Submitted by,
Ms. BRAUN, Chairperson June 9, 2008