TO THE HONOURABLE THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA:

Your Standing Committee on LAW AMENDMENTS presents the following as its Fifth Report.

Meetings:

Your Committee met on the following occasions:

- Tuesday, June 25, 2002 at 6:30 p.m.
- Wednesday, June 26, 2002 at 6:30 p.m.

Both meetings were held in Room 255 of the Legislative Building.

Matters Under Consideration:

• Bill (No. 14) – The Public Schools Modernization Act (Public Schools Act Amended)/Loi sur la modernisation des écoles publiques (modification de la Loi sur les écoles publiques)

Membership Resignations / Elections:

At the June 25, 2002 meeting, your Committee elected Ms. KORZENIOWSKI as Vice-Chairperson.

At the June 26, 2002 meeting, your Committee elected Mr. RONDEAU as Vice-Chairperson.

Substitutions received prior to commencement of the meeting held on June 25, 2002:

- Hon. Mr. CALDWELL for Mr. AGLUGUB
- Ms. ALLAN for Mr. DEWAR
- Hon. Ms. BARRETT for Hon. Ms. FRIESEN
- Mr. STRUTHERS for Mr. NEVAKSHONOFF
- Hon. Mr. SMITH (Brandon West) for Mr. SCHELLENBERG
- Ms. KORZENIOWSKI for Hon. Mr. MACKINTOSH
- Mr. GILLESHAMMER for Mr. HAWRANIK
- Mr. TWEED for Mr. LAURENDEAU
- Mr. LOEWEN for Mr. SCHULER

Substitutions received prior to commencement of the meeting held on June 26, 2002:

- Mr. JENNISSEN for Ms. ALLAN
- Mr. NEVAKSHONOFF for Ms. KORZENIOWSKI
- Mr. RONDEAU for Hon. Mr. SMITH (Brandon West)
- Mr. LAURENDEAU for Mr. LOEWEN
- Mr. CUMMINGS for Mr. TWEED

Public Presentations:

Your Committee heard 39 presentations on Bill (No. 14) – The Public Schools Modernization Act (Public Schools Act Amended)/Loi sur la modernisation des écoles publiques (modification de la Loi sur les écoles publiques) from the following individuals and organizations:

Ruth Ann Furgala	Evergreen School Division
Malcolm Jolly	Brandon School Division No. 40
James Durston	Dauphin-Ochre School Area No. 1
Bobbi-Lynn Geekie	Birdtail River Teachers' Association
Peter Wohlgemut	Rhineland Teachers' Association
Craig Blagden	Prairie Rose Teachers' Association
Andrew Peters	Private Citizen
Lauren Andrushko	Private Citizen
Greg Andrushko	Private Citizen
Hilda Froese	Garden Valley School Division
Paul Wiebe	Private Citizen
Gladys Hayward Williams	Private Citizen
Diane Duma	Manitoba Association of Parent Councils
Karen Carey	Springfield Schools Parent Council
Peter Williams	Private Citizen

Maya Kathan Robin Glowacki Layna Penner Doraine Wachniak Diana Risbey Norah Bailey John Friesen Maria Kantyluk Linda Archer and Caroline Duhumel Terry Egan and Sandra Oakley Karen Velthuys, Craig Stahlke, and John Beaumont Dennis Wishanski and Elizabeth Kozak **Christopher Saunders** Otto Mehl Candace Daher Gloria James Brian Ardern Kristine Barr and David Bell Bob Land Anita Chapman Murray Grafton **Roland Stankevicius** Marijka Spytkowsky Virginia Larsson

Ecole Dugald School Private Citizen Private Citizen Private Citizen Private Citizen Agassiz Teachers' Association Private Citizen Private Citizen Manitoba Association of School Trustees CUPE Manitoba Fort Garry School Division

St. James Assiniboia School Division Springfield Parent Council Private Citizen Private Citizen Manitoba Teachers Society Winnipeg School Division No. 1 Private Citizen Louis Riel School Division Louis Riel Teachers' Association River East Teachers' Association Transcona-Springfield Teachers' Association Private Citizen

Written Submissions:

Your Committee received eight written submissions on Bill (No. 14) – The Public Schools Modernization Act (Public Schools Act Amended)/Loi sur la modernisation des écoles publiques (modification de la Loi sur les écoles publiques) from the following individuals and organizations:

Monica Ptak John Ehinger Karen Lalonde Kathy Andersson Susan Choquette Glen Anderson Zeeba Loxley John Shebniski Private Citizen Private Citizen Private Citizen Private Citizen Private Citizen Private Citizen Community Education and Development Association Duck Mountain School Division

Bills Considered and Reported:

Bill (No. 14) – The Public Schools Modernization Act (Public Schools Act Amended)

Your Committee agreed to report this Bill with the following amendments.

THAT the proposed section 12.2, as set out in section 10 of the Bill, be renumbered as subsection 12.2(1) and that the following be added as subsection 12.2(2):

Time for making subsequent regulations

12.2(2) The power to make regulations under subsection (1) may only be exercised on or before August 1, 2003.

THAT the proposed subclause 12.2(c)(i), as set out in section 10 of the Bill, be amended by adding "as a result of the formation, continuation, amalgamation, or dissolution of one or more new or former divisions" after "pupils".

THAT the proposed subclause 12.2(c)(ii), as set out in section 10 of the Bill, be amended by adding "or former" after "new".

THAT the subsection 22(2) of the Bill be amended by striking out "each of the next two years" and substituting "the next fiscal year".

THAT the French version of section 24(1) of the Bill be amended by striking out "Division scolaire de Red River Valley" wherever it occurs and substituting "Division scolaire Vallée de la Rivière-Rouge".

THAT the French version of section 24(2) of the Bill be amended by striking out "Division scolaire de Red River Valley" and substituting "Division scolaire Vallée de la Rivière-Rouge".

Submitted by:

Mr. Doug MARTINDALE, Chairperson June 26, 2002