

Manitoba

OPENING DAY PROCEDURE

for the

Fourth Session of the Forty-First

MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

1:30 p.m.

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

ALLUM, James	NDP	Fort Garry-Riverview
ALTEMEYER, Rob	NDP	Wolseley
BINDLE, Kelly	PC	Thompson
CLARKE, Hon. Eileen	PC	Agassiz
Cox, Hon. Cathy	PC	River East
CULLEN, Hon. Cliff	PC	Spruce Woods
CURRY, Nic	PC	Kildonan
DRIEDGER, Hon. Myrna B.	PC	Charleswood
EICHLER, Hon. Ralph	PC	Lakeside
EWASKO, Wayne	PC	Lac du Bonnet
FIELDING, Hon. Scott	PC	Kirkfield Park
FLETCHER, Hon. Steven	IND	Assiniboia
FONTAINE, Nahanni	NDP	St. Johns
FRIESEN, Hon. Cameron	PC	Morden-Winkler
GERRARD, Hon. Jon	LIB	River Heights
GOERTZEN, Hon. Kelvin	PC	Steinbach
GRAYDON, Clifford W.	IND	Emerson
GUILLEMARD, Sarah	PC	Fort Richmond
HELWER, Reg	PC	Brandon West
ISLEIFSON, Len	PC	Brandon East
JOHNSON, Derek	PC	Interlake
JOHNSTON, Scott	PC	St. James
KINEW, Wab	NDP	Fort Rouge
KLASSEN, Judy	LIB	Kewatinook
LAGASSÉ, Bob	PC	Dawson Trail
LAGIMODIERE, Alan D.	PC	Selkirk
LAMONT, Dougald	LIB	St. Boniface
LAMOUREUX, Cindy	LIB	Burrows
LATHLIN, Amanda	NDP	The Pas
LINDSEY, Tom	NDP	Flin Flon
MALOWAY, Jim	NDP	Elmwood
MARCELINO, Flor	NDP	Logan
MARCELINO, Ted	NDP	Tyndall Park
MARTIN, Shannon	PC	Morris
MAYER, Hon. Colleen	PC	St. Vital
MICHALESKI, Brad	PC	Dauphin
MICKLEFIELD, Andrew	PC	Rossmere
MORLEY-LECOMTE, Janice	PC	Seine River
NESBITT, Greg	PC	Riding Mountain

PALLISTER, Hon. Brian	PC	Fort Whyte
PEDERSEN, Hon. Blaine	PC	Midland
PIWNIUK, Doyle	PC	Arthur-Virden
REYES, Jon	PC	St. Norbert
SARAN, Mohinder	IND	The Maples
SCHULER, Hon. Ron R.	PC	St. Paul
SMITH, Andrew	PC	Southdale
SMITH, Bernadette	NDP	Point Douglas
SMOOK, Dennis	PC	La Verendrye
SQUIRES, Hon. Rochelle	PC	Riel
STEEANSON Hon Heather	PC	Tuvedo

SQUIRES, Hon. RochellePCRielSTEFANSON, Hon. HeatherPCTuxedoSWAN, AndrewNDPMintoTEITSMA, JamesPCRadissonWHARTON, Hon. JeffPCGimliWIEBE, MattNDPConcordia

WISHART, Ian PC Portage la Prairie
WOWCHUK, Rick PC Swan River
YAKIMOSKI, Blair PC Transcona

Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

Ms. Patricia Chaychuk, Clerk

Mr. Rick Yarish, Deputy Clerk

Ms. Monique Grenier, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Claude Michaud, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Greg Recksiedler, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Andrea Signorelli, Clerk Assistant

THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE FOR THE FOURTH SESSION OF THE FORTY-FIRST LEGISLATURE NOVEMBER 20, 2018

- 1. The Premier, Honorary Aides-de-camp and Officer Escort meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All **Members of the Legislative Assembly** and **invited guests** proceed to their seats in the Chamber and **remain standing**.
- 3. At 1:30 p.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Speaker, the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk, the Clerk Assistants and the Pages enter the Chamber.
- 4. Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, Officer Escort and the Premier enters the Chamber and takes her seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Private Secretary delivers the Throne Speech to Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor.
- 6. Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will say, "PLEASE BE SEATED" and then reads the Throne Speech.
- 7. After completion of the Throne Speech, Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire, accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, the Officer Escort, the Premier and the Provincial Court Judges. **ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING**.

Prior to exiting the Chamber, "God Save the Queen" and "O Canada" will be sung.

- 8. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and reads the Prayer.
- 9. The Premier moves:

"THAT Bill (No. 1) – An Act respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office/Loi sur la prestation des serments d'entrée en fonction, be now read a First Time."

10. The Premier moves:

"THAT the Speech of Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor, be taken into consideration tomorrow."

11. The Premier moves:

"THAT this House do now adjourn."

12. ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING.

The Speaker, preceded by the Sergeant-at-Arms and followed by the Clerks, exits the Chamber.