

OPENING DAY PROCEDURE

for the

Second Session of the Forty-First

MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Monday, November 21, 2016

1:30 p.m.

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

NDP Fort Garry-Riverview ALLUM, James **NDP** Wolseley ALTEMEYER, Rob BINDLE, Kelly PC Thompson CHIEF, Kevin **NDP** Point Douglas CLARKE, Hon. Eileen PC Agassiz PC Cox, Hon. Cathy River East CULLEN, Hon. Cliff PC Spruce Woods CURRY, Nic PC Kildonan PC **DRIEDGER**, Hon. Myrna B. Charleswood PC. Lakeside EICHLER, Hon. Ralph EWASKO, Wayne PC Lac du Bonnet FIELDING, Hon. Scott PC Kirkfield Park FLETCHER, Hon. Steven PC Assiniboia FONTAINE, Nahanni **NDP** St. Johns Morden-Winkler FRIESEN, Hon. Cameron PC GERRARD, Hon. Jon LIB River Heights GOERTZEN, Hon. Kelvin PC Steinbach GRAYDON, Clifford W. PC Emerson PC GUILLEMARD, Sarah Fort Richmond **HELWER**, Reg PC Brandon West PC **Brandon East** ISLEIFSON, Len JOHNSON, Derek PC Interlake PC St. James JOHNSTON, Scott KINEW, Wab **NDP** Fort Rouge LIB Kewatinook KLASSEN, Judy LAGASSÉ, Bob PC Dawson Trail PC Selkirk LAGIMODIERE, Alan D. LAMOUREUX, Cindy LIB Burrows LATHLIN, Amanda **NDP** The Pas Flin Flon LINDSEY, Tom **NDP** MALOWAY, Jim NDP Elmwood MARCELINO, Flor NDP Logan MARCELINO, Ted **NDP** Tyndall Park PC MARTIN, Shannon Morris MAYER, Colleen PC St. Vital MICHALESKI, Brad PC Dauphin MICKLEFIELD, Hon. Andrew PC Rossmere MORLEY-LECOMTE, Janice PC Seine River PC **NESBITT**, Greg Riding Mountain

| PALLISTER, Hon. Brian | PC | Fort Whyte |
|-------------------------|-----|--------------------|
| PEDERSEN, Hon. Blaine | PC | Midland |
| PIWNIUK, Doyle | PC | Arthur-Virden |
| REYES, Jon | PC | St. Norbert |
| SARAN, Mohinder | NDP | The Maples |
| SCHULER, Hon. Ron R. | PC | St. Paul |
| SELINGER, Greg | NDP | St. Boniface |
| SMITH, Andrew | PC | Southdale |
| SMOOK, Dennis | PC | La Verendrye |
| SQUIRES, Hon. Rochelle | PC | Riel |
| STEFANSON, Hon. Heather | PC | Tuxedo |
| SWAN, Andrew | NDP | Minto |
| TEITSMA, James | PC | Radisson |
| WHARTON, Jeff | PC | Gimli |
| WIEBE, Matt | NDP | Concordia |
| WISHART, Hon. Ian | PC | Portage la Prairie |

WOWCHUK, Rick PC Swan River YAKIMOSKI, Blair PC Transcona

Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

Ms. Patricia Chaychuk, Clerk

Mr. Rick Yarish, Deputy Clerk

Ms. Monique Grenier, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Claude Michaud, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Greg Recksiedler, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Andrea Signorelli, Clerk Assistant

THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE FOR THE SECOND SESSION OF THE FORTY-FIRST LEGISLATURE NOVEMBER 21, 2016

- 1. The Premier, Honorary Aides-de-camp and Officer Escort meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All **Members of the Legislative Assembly** and **invited guests** proceed to their seats in the Chamber and **remain standing**.
- 3. At 1:30 p.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Speaker, the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk and the Clerk Assistants enter the Chamber.
- 4. Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, Officer Escort and the Premier enters the Chamber and takes her seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Private Secretary delivers the Throne Speech to Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor.
- 6. Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will say, "PLEASE BE SEATED" and then reads the Throne Speech.
- 7. After completion of the Throne Speech, Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire, accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, the Officer Escort, the Premier and the Provincial Court Judges. **ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING**.

Prior to exiting the Chamber, "God Save the Queen" and "O Canada" will be sung.

- 8. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and reads the Prayer.
- 9. The Premier moves:

"THAT Bill (No. 1) – An Act respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office/Loi sur la prestation des serments d'entrée en fonction, be now read a First Time."

10. The Premier moves:

"THAT the Speech of Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor, be taken into consideration tomorrow."

11. The Premier moves:

"THAT this House do now adjourn."

12. ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING.

The Speaker, preceded by the Sergeant-at-Arms and followed by the Clerks, exits the Chamber.