

OPENING DAY PROCEDURE

for the

Fifth Session of the Fortieth

MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Monday, November 16, 2015 1:30 p.m.

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

NDP St. Vital ALLAN, Nancy ALLUM, Hon. James **NDP** Fort Garry-Riverview ALTEMEYER, Rob NDP Wolseley **ASHTON**, Hon. Steve NDP Thompson BLADY, Hon. Sharon NDP Kirkfield Park BRAUN, Hon. Erna NDP Rossmere BRIESE, Stuart PC Agassiz CALDWELL, Hon. Drew NDP **Brandon East** CHIEF. Hon. Kevin NDP Point Douglas CHOMIAK, Hon. Dave NDP Kildonan CROTHERS, Hon. Deanne NDP St. James CULLEN, Cliff PC Spruce Woods **DEWAR**, Hon. Gregory NDP Selkirk DRIEDGER, Myrna PC Charleswood EICHLER, Ralph PC Lakeside PC EWASKO, Wayne Lac du Bonnet FRIESEN, Cameron PC Morden-Winkler GAUDREAU, Dave NDP St. Norbert GERRARD, Hon. Jon LIB River Heights PC GOERTZEN, Kelvin Steinbach PC **GRAYDON**, Cliff Emerson **HELWER**, Reg PC Brandon West NDP Fort Rouge HOWARD, Jennifer IRVIN-ROSS, Hon. Kerri NDP Fort Richmond JHA. Bidhu NDP Radisson KOSTYSHYN, Hon. Ron NDP Swan River LATHLIN, Amanda NDP The Pas LEMIEUX, Hon. Ron NDP Dawson Trail MACKINTOSH, Hon. Gord NDP St. Johns MALOWAY, Jim NDP Elmwood MARCELINO, Hon. Florfina NDP Logan MARCELINO, Ted NDP Tyndall Park MARTIN, Shannon PC Morris MELNICK, Christine NDP Riel MITCHELSON, Bonnie PC River East **NEVAKSHONOFF**, Hon. Thomas NDP Interlake Seine River OSWALD, Theresa NDP PALLISTER, Brian PC Fort Whyte PEDERSEN, Blaine PC Midland **PETTERSEN.** Clarence NDP Flin Flon

PIWNIUK, Doyle PC Arthur-Virden REID, Hon. Daryl Gary NDP Transcona ROBINSON, Hon. Eric NDP Kewatinook Assiniboia RONDEAU, Jim NDP ROWAT, Leanne PC Riding Mountain SARAN, Hon. Mohinder NDP The Maples SCHULER, Ron PC St. Paul St. Boniface **SELINGER**, Hon. Gregory F. NDP PC La Verendrye SMOOK, Dennis STEFANSON, Heather PC Tuxedo Dauphin STRUTHERS, Stan NDP SWAN, Andrew NDP Minto WIEBE, Matt NDP Concordia WIGHT, Hon. Melanie NDP Burrows WISHART, Ian PC Portage la Prairie

Vacant Gimli Vacant Southdale

Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

Ms. Patricia Chaychuk, Clerk

Mr. Rick Yarish, Deputy Clerk

Ms. Monique Grenier, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Claude Michaud, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Greg Recksiedler, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Andrea Signorelli, Clerk Assistant

THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE FOR THE FIFTH SESSION OF THE FORTIETH LEGISLATURE ON NOVEMBER 16, 2015

- 1. The Premier, Honorary Aides-de-camp and Officer Escort meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All **Members of the Legislative Assembly** and **invited guests** proceed to their seats in the Chamber and **remain standing**.
- 3. At 1:30 p.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Speaker, the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk and the Clerk Assistants enter the Chamber.
- 4. Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, Officer Escort and the Premier enters the Chamber and takes her seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Civilian Aide (Private Secretary moving forward) delivers the Throne Speech to Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor.
- 6. Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will say, "PLEASE BE SEATED" and then reads the Throne Speech.
- 7. After completion of the Throne Speech, Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire, accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, the Officer Escort, the Premier and the Provincial Court Judges. **ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING**.

Prior to exiting the Chamber, the lyrics of "God Save the Queen" and "O Canada" will be sung.

- 8. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and reads the Prayer.
- 9. The Premier moves:

"THAT Bill (No. 1) – An Act respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office/Loi sur la prestation des serments d'entrée en fonction, be now read a First Time."

10. The Premier moves:

"THAT the Speech of Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor be taken into consideration tomorrow."

11. The Premier moves:

"THAT this House do now adjourn."

12. ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING.

The Speaker preceded by the Sergeant-at-Arms and followed by the Clerks exit the Chamber.