

Manitoba

## **OPENING DAY**

# PROCEDURE

for the

Third Session of the Fortieth

# MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

1:30 p.m.

### Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

ALLAN, Nancy	NDP	St. Vital
ALLUM, Hon. James	NDP	Fort Garry-Riverview
ALTEMEYER, Rob	NDP	Wolseley
ASHTON, Hon. Steve	NDP	Thompson
BJORNSON, Hon. Peter	NDP	Gimli
BLADY, Hon. Sharon	NDP	Kirkfield Park
BRAUN, Hon. Erna	NDP	Rossmere
BRIESE, Stuart	PC	Agassiz
CALDWELL, Drew	NDP	Brandon East
CHIEF, Hon. Kevin	NDP	Point Douglas
CHOMIAK, Hon. David	NDP	Kildonan
<b>CROTHERS</b> , Deanne	NDP	St. James
Cullen, Cliff	PC	Spruce Woods
DEWAR, Gregory	NDP	Selkirk
DRIEDGER, Myrna	PC	Charleswood
EICHLER, Ralph	PC	Lakeside
EWASKO, Wayne	PC	Lac du Bonnet
FRIESEN, Cameron	PC	Morden-Winkler
GAUDREAU, Dave	NDP	St. Norbert
GERRARD, Hon. Jon	LIB	<b>River Heights</b>
GOERTZEN, Kelvin	PC	Steinbach
GRAYDON, Cliff	PC	Emerson
HELWER, Reg	PC	Brandon West
HOWARD, Hon. Jennifer	NDP	Fort Rouge
IRVIN-ROSS, Hon. Kerri	NDP	Fort Richmond
JHA, Bidhu	NDP	Radisson
KOSTYSHYN, Hon. Ron	NDP	Swan River
LEMIEUX, Hon. Ron	NDP	Dawson Trail
MACKINTOSH, Hon. Gord	NDP	St. Johns
MALOWAY, Jim	NDP	Elmwood
MARCELINO, Hon. Florfina	NDP	Logan
MARCELINO, Ted	NDP	Tyndall Park
MELNICK, Christine	NDP	Riel
MITCHELSON, Bonnie	PC	River East
<b>NEVAKSHONOFF</b> , Thomas	NDP	Interlake
OSWALD, Hon. Theresa	NDP	Seine River
PALLISTER, Brian	PC	Fort Whyte
PEDERSEN, Blaine	PC	Midland
PETTERSEN, Clarence	NDP	Flin Flon

<b>REID</b> , Hon. Daryl Gary	NDP	Transcona
ROBINSON, Hon. Eric	NDP	Kewatinook
Rondeau, Jim	NDP	Assiniboia
ROWAT, Leanne	PC	<b>Riding Mountain</b>
SARAN, Mohinder	NDP	The Maples
SCHULER, Ron	PC	St. Paul
SELBY, Hon. Erin	NDP	Southdale
SELINGER, Hon. Gregory F.	NDP	St. Boniface
SMOOK, Dennis	PC	La Verendrye
STEFANSON, Heather	PC	Tuxedo
STRUTHERS, Hon. Stan	NDP	Dauphin
SWAN, Hon. Andrew	NDP	Minto
WHITEHEAD, Frank	NDP	The Pas
WIEBE, Matt	NDP	Concordia
WIGHT, Melanie	NDP	Burrows
WISHART, Ian	PC	Portage la Prairie
Vacant		Arthur-Virden
Vacant		Morris

### Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

Ms. Patricia Chaychuk, Clerk Mr. Rick Yarish, Deputy Clerk Ms. Monique Grenier, Clerk Assistant Mr. Claude Michaud, Clerk Assistant Mr. Greg Recksiedler, Clerk Assistant Mr. Andrea Signorelli, Clerk Assistant

#### THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE FOR THE THIRD SESSION OF THE FORTIETH LEGISLATURE ON NOVEMBER 12, 2013

- 1. The Premier, Honorary Aides-de-camp and Officer Escort meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All **Members of the Legislative Assembly** and **invited guests** proceed to their seats in the Chamber and **remain standing**.
- 3. At 1:30 p.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Speaker, the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk and the Clerk Assistants enter the Chamber.
- 4. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, Officer Escort and the Premier enters the Chamber and takes his seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Civilian Aide delivers the Throne Speech to His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor.
- 6. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will say, "PLEASE BE SEATED" and then reads the Throne Speech.
- 7. After completion of the Throne Speech, His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire, accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, the Officer Escort, the Premier and the Provincial Court Judges. **ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING**.

Prior to exiting the Chamber, the lyrics of "God Save the Queen" and "O Canada" will be sung.

- 8. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and reads the Prayer.
- 9. The Premier moves:

"THAT Bill (No. 1) – An Act respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office/Loi sur la prestation des serments d'entrée en fonction, be now read a First Time."

- 10. The Speaker informs the House that:
  - Ms. Emily BIGGAR Mr. Rory CHURCHILL-HENRY Mr. Nicolas CONNOR Ms. Nicole GOMES Ms. Maya JANZEN Mr. Mathieu JUBINVILLE Ms. Cara MCCASKILL Mr. Austin MCWHIRTER Ms. Destiny OLIVEIRA Mr. Eric SCHILLBERG

have been appointed Pages for the Third Session of the Fortieth Legislature.

11. The Premier moves:

"THAT the Speech of His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor be taken into consideration tomorrow."

12. The Premier moves:

"THAT this House do now adjourn."

### 13. ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING.

The Speaker preceded by the Sergeant-at-Arms and followed by the Clerks exit the Chamber.