

# OPENING DAY PROCEDURE

for the

**Second Session of the Fortieth** 

## MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Monday, November 19, 2012 1:30 p.m.

### Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

**NDP** St. Vital ALLAN, Hon. Nancy **NDP** Fort Garry-Riverview ALLUM, James ALTEMEYER, Rob NDP Wolseley ASHTON, Hon. Steve NDP Thompson **BJORNSON**, Hon. Peter NDP Gimli NDP Kirkfield Park BLADY, Sharon NDP BRAUN, Erna Rossmere BRIESE, Stuart PC Agassiz CALDWELL, Drew NDP **Brandon East** NDP Point Douglas **CHIEF**, Hon. Kevin CHOMIAK, Hon. David **NDP** Kildonan **CROTHERS.** Deanne NDP St. James CULLEN, Cliff PC Spruce Woods **DEWAR**, Gregory **NDP** Selkirk Charleswood **DRIEDGER**, Myrna PC EICHLER, Ralph PC Lakeside EWASKO, Wayne PC Lac du Bonnet FRIESEN, Cameron PC Morden-Winkler GAUDREAU, Dave NDP St. Norbert GERRARD, Hon. Jon LIB River Heights GOERTZEN, Kelvin PC Steinbach PC Emerson GRAYDON, Cliff PC Brandon West **HELWER**, Reg HOWARD, Hon. Jennifer NDP Fort Rouge IRVIN-ROSS, Hon. Kerri NDP Fort Richmond JHA. Bidhu NDP Radisson Swan River KOSTYSHYN, Hon. Ron NDP Dawson Trail LEMIEUX, Hon. Ron NDP MACKINTOSH, Hon. Gord NDP St. Johns PC Arthur-Virden MAGUIRE, Larry NDP Elmwood MALOWAY, Jim NDP MARCELINO, Hon. Florfina Logan Tyndall Park MARCELINO, Ted NDP NDP MELNICK, Hon. Christine Riel MITCHELSON, Bonnie PC River East

NDP

NDP

PC

PC

NDP

Interlake

Seine River

Fort Whyte Midland

Flin Flon

**NEVAKSHONOFF**, Thomas

OSWALD, Hon. Theresa

PALLISTER, Brian

PEDERSEN, Blaine

PETTERSEN, Clarence

REID, Hon. Daryl Gary	NDP	Transcona
ROBINSON, Hon. Eric	NDP	Kewatinook
RONDEAU, Hon. Jim	NDP	Assiniboia
ROWAT, Leanne	PC	Riding Mountain
SARAN, Mohinder	NDP	The Maples
SCHULER, Ron	PC	St. Paul
SELBY, Hon. Erin	NDP	Southdale
SELINGER, Hon. Gregory F.	NDP	St. Boniface
SMOOK, Dennis	PC	La Verendrye
STEFANSON, Heather	PC	Tuxedo
STRUTHERS, Hon. Stan	NDP	Dauphin
SWAN, Hon. Andrew	NDP	Minto
TAILLIEU, Mavis	PC	Morris
WHITEHEAD, Frank	NDP	The Pas
WIEBE, Matt	NDP	Concordia
WIGHT, Melanie	NDP	Burrows
WISHART, Ian	PC	Portage la Prairie

Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

Ms. Patricia Chaychuk, Clerk

Mr. Rick Yarish, Deputy Clerk

Ms. Monique Grenier, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Claude Michaud, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Greg Recksiedler, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Andrea Signorelli, Clerk Assistant

# THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE FOR THE SECOND SESSION OF THE FORTIETH LEGISLATURE ON NOVEMBER 19, 2012

- 1. His Honour, the Administrator, the Premier, Honorary Aides-de-camp and Officer Escort meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All **Members of the Legislative Assembly** and **invited guests** proceed to their seats in the Chamber and **remain standing**.
- 3. At 1:30 p.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Speaker, the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk and the Clerk Assistants enter the Chamber.
- 4. His Honour, the Administrator accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, Officer Escort and the Premier enters the Chamber and takes his seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Civilian Aide delivers the Throne Speech to His Honour, the Administrator.
- 6. His Honour, the Administrator will say, "PLEASE BE SEATED" and then reads the Throne Speech.
- 7. After completion of the Throne Speech, His Honour, the Administrator will rise from the Throne to retire, accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, the Officer Escort, the Premier and the Provincial Court Judges. **ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING**.

Prior to exiting the Chamber, the lyrics of "God Save the Queen" and "O Canada" will be sung.

- 8. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and reads the Prayer.
- 9. The Premier moves:

"THAT Bill (No. 1) – An Act respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office/Loi sur la prestation des serments d'entrée en fonction, be now read a First Time."

- 10. The Speaker informs the House that:
  - Mr. Austin AMY
  - Mr. Connor BOYD
  - Ms. Shannon COSSER
  - Ms. Lauren HADALLER
  - Ms. Kasia KIELOCH
  - Ms. Meghan MACDOUGALL
  - Ms. Julia MINARIK
  - Mr. Thomas SEALE
  - Mr. Ryan SHERBO
  - Mr. Eric SHINNIE

have been appointed Pages for the Second Session of the Fortieth Legislature.

#### 11. The Premier moves:

"THAT the Speech of His Honour, the Administrator be taken into consideration tomorrow."

#### 12. The Premier moves:

"THAT this House do now adjourn."

## 13. ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING.

The Speaker preceded by the Sergeant-at-Arms and followed by the Clerks exit the Chamber.