

Manitoba

# **OPENING DAY**

# PROCEDURE

for the

First Session of the Fortieth

## MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Thursday, October 20, 2011

10:00 a.m.

#### Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

ALLAN, Hon. Nancy	NDP	St. Vital
ALLUM, James	NDP	Fort Garry-Riverview
ALTEMEYER, Rob	NDP	Wolseley
ASHTON, Hon. Steve	NDP	Thompson
BJORNSON, Hon. Peter	NDP	Gimli
BRAUN, Erna	NDP	Rossmere
BRIESE, Stuart	PC	Agassiz
CALDWELL, Drew	NDP	Brandon East
CHIEF, Kevin	NDP	Point Douglas
CHOMIAK, Hon. David	NDP	Kildonan
CROTHERS, Deanne	NDP	St. James
CULLEN, Cliff	PC	Spruce Woods
DEWAR, Gregory	NDP	Selkirk
DRIEDGER, Myrna	PC	Charleswood
EICHLER, Ralph	PC	Lakeside
EWASKO, Wayne	PC	Lac du Bonnet
FRIESEN, Cameron	PC	Morden-Winkler
GERRARD, Hon. Jon	LIB	<b>River Heights</b>
GOERTZEN, Kelvin	PC	Steinbach
GRAYDON, Cliff	PC	Emerson
Helwer, Reg	PC	Brandon West
HOWARD, Hon. Jennifer	NDP	Fort Rouge
IRVIN-ROSS, Hon. Kerri	NDP	Fort Richmond
JHA, Bidhu	NDP	Radisson
KOSTYSHYN, Ron	NDP	Swan River
LEMIEUX, Hon. Ron	NDP	Dawson Trail
MACKINTOSH, Hon. Gord	NDP	St. Johns
MAGUIRE, Larry	PC	Arthur-Virden
Maloway, Jim	NDP	Elmwood
MARCELINO, Hon. Florfina	NDP	Logan
MARCELINO, Ted	NDP	Tyndall Park
MCFADYEN, Hugh	PC	Fort Whyte
MELNICK, Hon. Christine	NDP	Riel
MITCHELSON, Bonnie	PC	River East
<b>NEVAKSHONOFF</b> , Thomas	NDP	Interlake
OSWALD, Hon. Theresa	NDP	Seine River
PEDERSEN, Blaine	PC	Midland
PETTERSEN, Clarence	NDP	Flin Flon

<b>REID</b> , Daryl Gary	NDP	Transcona
ROBINSON, Hon. Eric	NDP	Kewatinook
RONDEAU, Hon. Jim	NDP	Assiniboia
ROWAT, Leanne	PC	<b>Riding Mountain</b>
SARAN, Mohinder	NDP	The Maples
SCHULER, Ron	PC	St. Paul
SELBY, Hon. Erin	NDP	Southdale
SELINGER, Hon. Gregory F.	NDP	St. Boniface
SMOOK, Dennis	PC	La Verendrye
STEFANSON, Heather	PC	Tuxedo
STRUTHERS, Hon. Stan	NDP	Dauphin
SWAN, Hon. Andrew	NDP	Minto
TAILLIEU, Mavis	PC	Morris
WHITEHEAD, Frank	NDP	The Pas
WIEBE, Matt	NDP	Concordia
WIGHT, Melanie	NDP	Burrows
WISHART, Ian	PC	Portage la Prairie
		Kirkfield Park
		St. Norbert

Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

Ms. Patricia Chaychuk, Clerk Mr. Rick Yarish, Deputy Clerk Ms. Monique Grenier, Clerk Assistant Mr. Claude Michaud, Clerk Assistant Mr. Greg Recksiedler, Clerk Assistant Mr. Andrea Signorelli, Clerk Assistant

### ELECTION OF SPEAKER FOR THE FIRST SESSION OF THE FORTIETH LEGISLATURE OCTOBER 20, 2011

- 1. The Premier, Honorary Aides-de-camp and Officer Escort meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All **Members of the Legislative Assembly** proceed to their seats in the Chamber and **remain standing**.
- 3. At 10:00 a.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk and the Clerk Assistant enter the Chamber.
- 4. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, Officer Escort and the Premier enters the Chamber and takes his seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Attorney-General informs the House that His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor is not prepared to present the Throne Speech until a Speaker has been elected.
- 6. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire followed by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, the Officer Escort and the Premier. **ALL MEMBERS STANDING.**
- 7. The Election of Speaker is conducted by the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly.
- 8. The newly elected Speaker is escorted by the Premier and the Leader of the Official Opposition where he/she is invested with the robes of office. The Speaker returns thanks to the House.
- 9. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor, accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, Officer Escort and the Premier enters the Chamber and takes his seat on the Throne.
- 10. The Speaker addresses the Lieutenant Governor.
- 11. The Attorney-General indicates to the House that His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor, will declare the causes of calling this Legislative Assembly on Thursday, October 20<sup>th</sup> at 1:30 p.m.
- 12. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire followed by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, the Officer Escort and the Premier. **ALL MEMBERS STANDING.**
- 13. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and recesses the House until 1:30 p.m.