

Manitoba

# **OPENING DAY**

# PROCEDURE

for the

Fifth Session of the Thirty-Ninth

## MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

1:30 p.m.

### Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

	NDD	
ALLAN, Hon. Nancy	NDP	St. Vital
ALTEMEYER, Rob	NDP	Wolseley
ASHTON, Hon. Steve	NDP	Thompson
BJORNSON, Hon. Peter	NDP	Gimli
BLADY, Sharon	NDP	Kirkfield Park
BLAIKIE, Hon. Bill	NDP	Elmwood
BOROTSIK, Rick	PC	Brandon West
BRAUN, Erna	NDP	Rossmere
BRICK, Marilyn	NDP	St. Norbert
BRIESE, Stu	PC	Ste. Rose
CALDWELL, Drew	NDP	Brandon East
CHOMIAK, Hon. David Walter	NDP	Kildonan
CULLEN, Cliff	PC	Turtle Mountain
DERKACH, Len	PC	Russell
DEWAR, Gregory	NDP	Selkirk
DRIEDGER, Myrna	PC	Charleswood
DYCK, Peter George	PC	Pembina
EICHLER, Ralph	PC	Lakeside
FAURSCHOU, David	PC	Portage la Prairie
GERRARD, Hon. Jon	LIB	<b>River Heights</b>
GOERTZEN, Kelvin	PC	Steinbach
GRAYDON, Cliff	PC	Emerson
HAWRANIK, Gerald	PC	Lac du Bonnet
HICKES, Hon. George	NDP	Point Douglas
HOWARD, Hon. Jennifer	NDP	Fort Rouge
IRVIN-ROSS, Hon. Kerri	NDP	Fort Garry
JENNISSEN, Gerard	NDP	Flin Flon
JHA, Bidhu	NDP	Radisson
KORZENIOWSKI, Bonnie	NDP	St. James
LEMIEUX, Hon. Ron	NDP	La Verendrye
MACKINTOSH, Hon. Gord	NDP	St. Johns
MAGUIRE, Larry	PC	Arthur-Virden
MARCELINO, Hon. Flor	NDP	Wellington
MARTINDALE, Doug	NDP	Burrows
MCFADYEN, Hugh	PC	Fort Whyte
MCGIFFORD, Hon. Diane	NDP	Lord Roberts
MELNICK, Hon. Christine	NDP	Riel
MITCHELSON, Bonnie	PC	River East
NEVAKSHONOFF, Thomas G.	NDP	Interlake
OSWALD, Hon. Theresa	NDP	Seine River

PEDERSEN, Blaine	PC	Carman
<b>REID</b> , Daryl Gary	NDP	Transcona
ROBINSON, Hon. Eric	NDP	Rupertsland
RONDEAU, Hon. Jim	NDP	Assiniboia
ROWAT, Leanne	PC	Minnedosa
SARAN, Mohinder	NDP	The Maples
SCHULER, Ron	PC	Springfield
SELBY, Erin	NDP	Southdale
SELINGER, Hon. Gregory F.	NDP	St. Boniface
STEFANSON, Heather	PC	Tuxedo
STRUTHERS, Hon. Stan	NDP	Dauphin-Roblin
SWAN, Hon. Andrew	NDP	Minto
TAILLIEU, Mavis	PC	Morris
WHITEHEAD, Frank	NDP	The Pas
WIEBE, Matt	NDP	Concordia
WOWCHUK, Hon. Rosann	NDP	Swan River
Vacant	-	Inkster

### Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

Ms. Patricia Chaychuk, Clerk Ms. Beverley Bosiak, Deputy Clerk Ms. Monique Grenier, Clerk Assistant Mr. Rick Yarish, Clerk Assistant Mr. Claude Michaud, Clerk Assistant Mr. Greg Recksiedler, Clerk Assistant

#### THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE FOR THE FIFTH SESSION OF THE THIRTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE ON NOVEMBER 16, 2010

- 1. The Premier, Honorary Aides-de-camp and Officer Escort meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All **Members of the Legislative Assembly** and **invited guests** proceed to their seats in the Chamber and **remain standing**.
- 3. At 1:30 p.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Speaker, the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk and the Clerk Assistants enter the Chamber.
- 4. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, Officer Escort and the Premier enters the Chamber and takes his seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Civilian Aide delivers the Throne Speech to His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor.
- 6. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will say, "PLEASE BE SEATED" and then reads the Throne Speech.
- 7. After completion of the Throne Speech, His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire, accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, the Officer Escort, the Premier and the Provincial Court Judges. **ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING**.

Prior to exiting the Chamber, the lyrics of "God Save the Queen" and "O Canada" will be sung.

- 8. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and reads the Prayer.
- 9. The Premier moves:

"THAT Bill (No. 1) – An Act respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office/Loi sur la prestation des serments d'entrée en fonction, be now read a First Time."

- 10. The Speaker informs the House that:
  - Ms. Samantha BALLARD Ms. Alexandria BONNEY Ms. Ashley BREKELMANS Mr. Mathieu CATELLIER Ms. Emilie DERKSON-POIRIER Ms. Ayda LOEWEN-CLARKE Ms. Karine MARTEL Ms. Samantha SQUIRE Ms. Rachel SWATEK Mr. James ZUBRISKI

have been appointed Pages for the Fifth Session of the Thirty-Ninth Legislature.

11. The Premier moves:

"THAT the Speech of His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor be taken into consideration tomorrow."

12. The Premier moves:

"THAT this House do now adjourn."

### 13. ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING.

The Speaker preceded by the Sergeant-at-Arms and followed by the Clerks exit the Chamber.