

OPENING DAY PROCEDURE

for the

First Session of the Thirty-Ninth

MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Wednesday, June 6, 2007

1:30 p.m.

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

NDP St. Vital ALLAN, Hon. Nancy Wolseley NDP **ALTEMEYER.** Rob **ASHTON**, Hon. Steve NDP Thompson BJORNSON, Hon. Peter NDP Gimli BLADY, Sharon Kirkfield Park NDP BRAUN. Erna NDP Rossmere NDP BRICK, Marilyn St. Norbert BRIESE, Stu PC Ste. Rose NDP **Brandon East** CALDWELL. Drew CHOMIAK, Hon. David Walter NDP Kildonan Turtle Mountain CULLEN, Cliff PC Russell PC DERKACH, Len NDP Selkirk **DEWAR**, Gregory NDP DOER, Hon. Gary Concordia DRIEDGER, Myrna PC Charleswood PC Pembina DYCK, Peter George EICHLER, Ralph PC Lakeside PC FAURSCHOU, David Portage la Prairie GERRARD, Hon. Jon LIB River Heights GOERTZEN. Kelvin PC Steinbach PC Emerson GRAYDON, Cliff PC HAWRANIK, Gerald Lac du Bonnet HICKES, George NDP Point Douglas HOWARD, Jennifer NDP Fort Rouge IRVIN-ROSS, Hon. Kerri **NDP** Fort Garry JENNISSEN, Gerard NDP Flin Flon Radisson JHA. Bidhu NDP KORZENIOWSKI, Bonnie NDP St. James LAMOUREUX, Kevin LIB Inkster LATHLIN, Hon, Oscar NDP The Pas LEMIEUX, Hon. Ron NDP La Verendrye MACKINTOSH, Hon. Gord NDP St. Johns MAGUIRE, Larry PC Arthur-Virden Elmwood MALOWAY, Jim NDP MARCELINO, Flor NDP Wellington MARTINDALE, Doug NDP Burrows McFadyen, Hugh PC Fort Whyte McGIFFORD, Hon. Diane NDP Lord Roberts MELNICK, Hon. Christine NDP Riel

NDP

NEVAKSHONOFF, Thomas G.

Interlake

OSWALD, Hon. Theresa	NDP	Seine River
PEDERSEN, Blaine	PC	Carman
REID, Daryl Gary	NDP	Transcona
ROBINSON, Hon. Eric	NDP	Rupertsland
RONDEAU, Hon. Jim	NDP	Assiniboia
ROWAT, Leanne	PC	Minnedosa
SARAN, Mohinder	NDP	The Maples
SCHULER, Ron	PC	Springfield
SELBY, Erin	NDP	Southdale
SELINGER, Hon. Gregory F.	NDP	St. Boniface
STEFANSON, Heather	PC	Tuxedo
STRUTHERS, Hon. Stan	NDP	Dauphin-Roblin
SWAN, Andrew	NDP	Minto
TAILLIEU, Mavis	PC	Morris
WOWCHUK, Hon. Rosann	NDP	Swan River

Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

Ms. Patricia Chaychuk, Clerk

Ms. Beverley Bosiak, Deputy Clerk

Ms. Monique Grenier, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Rick Yarish, Clerk Assistant

Ms. Tamara Pomanski, Clerk Assistant

ELECTION OF SPEAKER AND THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE FOR THE FIRST SESSION OF THE THIRTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE JUNE 6, 2007

- 1. The Premier, Honorary Aides-de-camp and Officer Escort meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All **Members of the Legislative Assembly** proceed to their seats in the Chamber and **remain standing**.
- 3. At 1:30 p.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk and the Clerk Assistant(s) enter the Chamber.
- 4. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, Officer Escort and the Premier enters the Chamber and takes his seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Attorney-General informs the House that His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor is not prepared to present the Throne Speech until a Speaker has been elected.
- 6. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire followed by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, the Officer Escort and the Premier. **ALL MEMBERS STANDING**.
- 7. The Election of Speaker is conducted by the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly.
- 8. The newly elected Speaker is escorted by the Premier and the Leader of the Official Opposition where he/she is invested with the robes of office. The Speaker returns thanks to the House.
- 9. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, Officer Escort and the Premier enters the Chamber and takes his seat on the Throne.
- 10. The Speaker addresses the Lieutenant Governor.
- 11. The Attorney-General indicates to the House that His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will now declare the causes of calling this Legislative Assembly.
- 12. The Civilian Aide delivers the Throne Speech to His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor.
- 13. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will say, "PLEASE BE SEATED" and then reads the Throne Speech.
- 14. After completion of the Throne Speech, His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire followed by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, the Officer Escort and the Premier. **ALL MEMBERS STANDING**.
 - Prior to exiting the Chamber, the lyrics of "God Save the Queen" and "O Canada" will be sung.
- 15. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and reads the Prayer.

- 16. The Premier moves appointment of the Chairperson of the Committees of the Whole House and Deputy Speaker.
- 17. The Premier moves appointments of the Deputy Chairpersons of the Committees of the Whole House.
- 18. The Premier moves:

"THAT Bill (No. 1) – An Act respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office/Loi sur la prestation des serments d'entrée en fonction, be now read a First Time."

- 19. The Premier moves the appointment of a Special Committee of Seven Persons.
- 20. The Premier moves:

"THAT the Speech of His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor be taken into consideration today."

- 21. A Government backbencher moves the motion for an Address in Reply to the Speech from the Throne and a debate arises. The mover and the seconder of the motion will speak first. The Leader of the Official Opposition will either adjourn the debate or speak to the motion and may move an amendment.
- 22. The House adjourns at 5:00 p.m. **ALL MEMBERS STANDING**.

The Speaker preceded by the Sergeant-at-Arms and followed by the Clerks exit the Chamber.