

OPENING DAY

PROCEDURE

for the

Fourth Session of the Thirty-Eighth

MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Thursday, October 27, 2005

1:30 p.m.

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

AGLUGUB, Cris L.	NDP	The Maples
ALLAN, Hon. Nancy	NDP	St. Vital
ALTEMEYER, Rob	NDP	Wolseley
ASHTON, Hon. Steve	NDP	Thompson
BJORNSON, Hon. Peter	NDP	Gimli
BRICK, Marilyn	NDP	St. Norbert
CALDWELL, Drew	NDP	Brandon East
CHOMIAK, Hon. David Walter	NDP	Kildonan
CULLEN, Cliff	PC	Turtle Mountain
CUMMINGS, Glen	PC	Ste. Rose
DERKACH, Len	PC	Russell
DEWAR , Gregory	NDP	Selkirk
DOER, Hon. Gary	NDP	Concordia
DRIEDGER, Myrna	PC	Charleswood
DYCK, Peter George	PC	Pembina
EICHLER, Ralph	PC	Lakeside
FAURSCHOU, David	PC	Portage la Prairie
GERRARD, Hon. Jon	LIB	River Heights
GOERTZEN, Kelvin	PC	Steinbach
HAWRANIK, Gerald	PC	Lac du Bonnet
HICKES, Hon. George	NDP	Point Douglas
IRVIN-ROSS, Kerri	NDP	Fort Garry
JENNISSEN, Gerard	NDP	Flin Flon
JHA, Bidhu	NDP	Radisson
KORZENIOWSKI, Bonnie	NDP	St. James
LAMOUREUX, Kevin	LIB	Inkster
LATHLIN, Hon. Oscar	NDP	The Pas
LEMIEUX, Hon. Ron	NDP	La Verendrye
Vacant	-	Fort Whyte
MACKINTOSH, Hon. Gord	NDP	St. Johns
MAGUIRE, Larry	PC	Arthur-Virden
MALOWAY, Jim	NDP	Elmwood
MARTINDALE, Doug	NDP	Burrows
McGifford, Hon. Diane	NDP	Lord Roberts
MELNICK, Hon. Christine	NDP	Riel
MITCHELSON, Bonnie	PC	River East
MURRAY, Stuart	PC	Kirkfield Park
NEVAKSHONOFF , Thomas G.	NDP	Interlake
OSWALD, Hon. Theresa	NDP	Seine River

PENNER, Jack	PC	Emerson
REID, Daryl Gary	NDP	Transcona
REIMER, Jack	PC	Southdale
ROBINSON, Hon. Eric	NDP	Rupertsland
ROCAN, Denis	PC	Carman
RONDEAU, Hon. Jim	NDP	Assiniboia
ROWAT, Leanne	PC	Minnedosa
SALE, Hon. Tim	NDP	Fort Rouge
SANTOS, Conrad	NDP	Wellington
SCHELLENBERG, Harry	NDP	Rossmere
SCHULER, Ron	PC	Springfield
SELINGER , Hon. Gregory F.	NDP	St. Boniface
SMITH, Hon. Scott	NDP	Brandon West
STEFANSON, Heather	PC	Tuxedo
STRUTHERS, Hon. Stan	NDP	Dauphin-Roblin
SWAN, Andrew	NDP	Minto

Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

PC

NDP

Morris

Swan River

Ms. Patricia Chaychuk, Clerk

Ms. Beverley Bosiak, Deputy Clerk

Ms. JoAnn McKerlie-Korol, Clerk Assistant

Ms. Monique Grenier, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Rick Yarish, Clerk Assistant

TAILLIEU, Mavis

WOWCHUK, Hon. Rosann

THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE FOR THE FOURTH SESSION OF THE THIRTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE ON OCTOBER 27, 2005

- 1. The Premier, Honorary Aides-de-camp and Officer Escort meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All **Members of the Legislative Assembly** and **invited guests** proceed to their seats in the Chamber and **remain standing**.
- 3. At 1:30 p.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Speaker, the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk and the Clerk Assistants enter the Chamber.
- 4. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, Officer Escort and the Premier enters the Chamber and takes his seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Civilian Aide delivers the Throne Speech to His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor.
- 6. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will say, "PLEASE BE SEATED" and then reads the Throne Speech.
- 7. After completion of the Throne Speech, His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire followed by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, the Officer Escort, the Premier and the Provincial Court Judges. **ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING**.

Prior to exiting the Chamber, the lyrics of "God Save the Queen" and "O Canada" will be sung.

- 8. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and reads the Prayer.
- 9. The Premier moves:

"THAT Bill (No. 1) – An Act respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office/Loi sur la prestation des serments d'entrée en fonction, be now read a First Time."

10. The Speaker informs the House that:

Mr. Daniel WINSTANLEY

Mr. Nicholas DUPUIS

Ms. Gillian THORNTON

Ms. Alannah HALLAS

Ms. Hemali VYAS

Mr. Chad JACOBSON

Mr. Ryan FOYLE

Ms. Monica DE CASTRO

have been appointed Pages for the Fourth Session of the Thirty-Eighth Legislature.

11. The Premier moves:

"THAT the Speech of His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor be taken into consideration tomorrow."

12. The Premier moves:

"THAT this House do now adjourn."

13. ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING.

The Speaker preceded by the Sergeant-at-Arms and followed by the Clerks exit the Chamber.