

Manitoba

THRONE SPEECH

PROCEDURE

for the

Fourth Session of the Thirty-Seventh

MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Wednesday, November 27, 2002

1:30 p.m.

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

ACULICUD Cric I	NDP	The Maples
AGLUGUB, Cris L. ALLAN, Nancy	NDP	The Maples St. Vital
ASHTON, Hon. Steve	NDP	Thompson
ASPER, Linda	NDP	Riel
,	NDP	Inkster
BARRETT, Hon. Becky CALDWELL, Hon. Drew	NDP	Brandon East
CERILLI, Marianne	NDP	Radisson
		Kildonan
CHOMIAK, Hon. David Walter	NDP	
CUMMINGS, Glen	PC	Ste. Rose Seine River
DACQUAY, Louise M.	PC	
DERKACH, Len	PC	Russell
DEWAR, Gregory	NDP	Selkirk
DOER, Hon. Gary	NDP	Concordia
DRIEDGER, Myrna	PC	Charleswood
DYCK, Peter George	PC	Pembina
ENNS, Harry J.	PC	Lakeside
FAURSCHOU, David	PC	Portage La Prairie
FRIESEN, Hon. Jean Myfanwy	NDP	Wolseley
GERRARD, Hon. Jon	LIBERAL	River Heights
GILLESHAMMER, Harold	PC	Minnedosa
Helwer, Ed	PC	Gimli
HAWRANIK, Gerald	PC	Lac du Bonnet
HICKES, Hon. George	NDP	Point Douglas
JENNISSEN, Gerard	NDP	Flin Flon
KORZENIOWSKI, Bonnie	NDP	St. James
LATHLIN, Hon. Oscar	NDP	The Pas
LAURENDEAU, Marcel	PC	St. Norbert
LEMIEUX, Hon. Ron	NDP	La Verendrye
LOEWEN, John	PC	Fort Whyte
MACKINTOSH, Hon. Gord	NDP	St. Johns
MAGUIRE, Larry	PC	Arthur-Virden
MALOWAY, Jim	NDP	Elmwood
MARTINDALE, Doug	NDP	Burrows
MCGIFFORD, Hon. Diane	NDP	Lord Roberts
MIHYCHUK, Hon. MaryAnn	NDP	Minto
MITCHELSON, Bonnie	PC	River East
MURRAY, Stuart	PC	Kirkfield Park
NEVAKSHONOFF, Thomas G.	NDP	Interlake
PENNER, Jack	PC	Emerson
Penner, Jim	PC	Steinbach

PITURA, Frank	РС	Morris
		WIOITIS
REID, Daryl Gary	NDP	Transcona
REIMER, Jack	PC	Southdale
ROBINSON, Hon. Eric	NDP	Rupertsland
ROCAN, Denis	PC	Carman
Rondeau, Jim	NDP	Assiniboia
SALE, Hon. Tim	NDP	Fort Rouge
SANTOS, Conrad	NDP	Wellington
SCHELLENBERG, Harry	NDP	Rossmere
SCHULER, Ron	PC	Springfield
SELINGER, Hon. Gregory F.	NDP	St. Boniface
SMITH, Joy	PC	Fort Garry
SMITH, Hon. Scott	NDP	Brandon West
STEFANSON, Heather	PC	Tuxedo
STRUTHERS, Stan	NDP	Dauphin-Roblin
TWEED, Mervin C.	PC	Turtle Mountain
WOWCHUK, Hon. Rosann	NDP	Swan River

Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

Ms. Patricia Chaychuk, Clerk Ms. Beverley Bosiak, Deputy Clerk Ms. JoAnn McKerlie-Korol, Clerk Assistant Ms. Monique Grenier, Clerk Assistant Mr. Rick Yarish, Clerk Assistant

THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE FOR THE FOURTH SESSION OF THE THIRTY-SEVENTH LEGISLATURE ON NOVEMBER 27, 2002

- 1. The Premier, Military and Civil Aides, and Officers comprising the Officer Escort meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All Members of the Legislative Assembly and invited guests proceed to their seats in the Chamber and remain standing.
- 3. At 1:30 p.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Speaker, the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk and the Clerk Assistants enter the Chamber.
- 4. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor accompanied by the Premier, Military and Civil Aides and Officer Escort enters the Chamber and takes his seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Civil Aide gives His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor the Throne Speech.
- 6. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will say, "PLEASE BE SEATED" and then reads the Throne Speech.
- 7. After completion of the Throne Speech, His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire followed by the Provincial Court Judges. ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING.

Prior to exiting the Chamber, the lyrics of "God Save the Queen" and "O Canada" will be sung.

8. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and remains standing.

The Premier returns to his assigned seat in the Chamber and remains standing.

The Sergeant-at-Arms makes obeisance with the Mace and lays the Mace on the Clerk's Table and remains standing.

The Clerks take their places at the Table and remain standing.

- 9. The Speaker reads the Prayer.
- 10. The Premier moves:

"THAT leave be given to introduce a Bill (No. 1) – An Act respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office/Loi sur la prestation des serments d'entrée en fonction, and that the same be now received and read a First Time."

11. The Speaker then informs the House that:

Laura HUDEK; Akosua MATTHEWS; Ashley MIYAI; Buchi NNADI; Blake ZAWADA Vanessa THIESSEN; Andrea PETERS; and Alexis MARTIN;

have been appointed Pages for the Fourth Session of the Thirty-Seventh Legislature.

12. The Premier moves:

"THAT the Speech of His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor be taken into consideration tomorrow."

13. The Premier moves:

"THAT this House do now adjourn."

14. ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING.

The Speaker, preceded by the Sergeant-at-Arms and followed by the Clerks of the Legislative Assembly exit the Chamber.