

Manitoba

THRONE SPEECH

PROCEDURE

of the

First Session of the Thirty-Seventh

MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

November 25, 1999

1:30 p.m.

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

AGLUGUB, Cris L.	NDP	The Maples
ALLAN, Nancy	NDP	St. Vital
ASHTON, Hon. Steve	NDP	Thompson
ASPER, Linda	NDP	Riel
BARRETT, Hon. Becky	NDP	Inkster
CALDWELL, Hon. Drew	NDP	Brandon East
CERILLI, Marianne	NDP	Radisson
CHOMIAK, Hon. David Walter	NDP	Kildonan
CUMMINGS, Glen	PC	Ste. Rose
DACQUAY, Louise M.	PC	Seine River
DERKACH, Len	РС	Russell
DEWAR, Gregory	NDP	Selkirk
DOER, Hon. Gary	NDP	Concordia
DRIEDGER, Myrna	РС	Charleswood
DYCK, Peter George	РС	Pembina
ENNS, Harry J.	РС	Lakeside
FAURSCHOU, David	РС	Portage La Prairie
FILMON, Gary	РС	Tuxedo
FRIESEN, Hon. Jean Myfanwy	NDP	Wolseley
GERRARD, Hon. Jon	LIBERAL	River Heights
GILLESHAMMER, Harold	РС	Minnedosa
HELWER, Ed	РС	Gimli
HICKES, George	NDP	Point Douglas
JENNISSEN, Gerard	NDP	Flin Flon
KORZENIOWSKI, Bonnie	NDP	St. James
LATHLIN, Hon. Oscar	NDP	The Pas
LAURENDEAU, Marcel	РС	St. Norbert
LEMIEUX, Hon. Ron	NDP	La Verendrye
LOEWEN, John	РС	Fort Whyte
MACKINTOSH, Hon. Gord	NDP	St. Johns
MAGUIRE, Larry	РС	Arthur-Virden
MALOWAY, Jim	NDP	Elmwood
MARTINDALE, Doug	NDP	Burrows
McGIFFORD, Hon. Diane	NDP	Lord Roberts
MIHYCHUK, Hon. MaryAnn	NDP	Minto
MITCHELSON, Bonnie	РС	River East
NEVAKSHONOFF, Thomas G.	NDP	Interlake
PENNER, Jack	РС	Emerson
PENNER, Jim	PC	Steinbach
PITURA, Frank	РС	Morris

PRAZNIK, Darren	PC	Lac du Bonnet
REID, Daryl Gary	NDP	Transcona
REIMER, Jack	PC	Southdale
ROBINSON, Hon. Eric	NDP	Rupertsland
ROCAN, Denis	PC	Carman
RONDEAU, Jim	NDP	Assiniboia
SALE, Hon. Tim	NDP	Fort Rouge
SANTOS, Conrad	NDP	Wellington
SCHELLENBERG, Harry	NDP	Rossmere
SCHULER, Ron	PC	Springfield
SELINGER, Hon. Gregory F.	NDP	St. Boniface
SMITH, Joy	PC	Fort Garry
SMITH, Scott	NDP	Brandon West
STEFANSON, Eric	PC	Kirkfield Park
STRUTHERS, Stan	NDP	Dauphin-Roblin
TWEED, Mervin C.	PC	Turtle Mountain
WOWCHUK, Hon. Rosann	NDP	Swan River

Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

Mr. W.H. Remnant, Clerk

Ms. Beverley Bosiak, Deputy Clerk

Ms. Patricia Chaychuk, Clerk Assistant

Ms. JoAnn McKerlie-Korol, Clerk Assistant

Ms. Monique Grenier, Clerk Assistant

THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE OF THE FIRST SESSION OF THE THIRTY-SEVENTH LEGISLATURE ON NOVEMBER 25, 1999

- 1. At 1:30 p.m., **all Members and guests standing**, the Acting Sergeant-at-Arms, carrying the Mace shoulder high and followed by the Speaker and the Clerks of the Legislative Assembly, enters the Chamber and proceeds along the west side. The Speaker takes post on the east side of the Chamber, the Clerks take post on the west side of the Chamber and the Acting Sergeant-at-Arms returns along the east side of the Chamber to the main entrance where he stands and awaits the arrival of His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor.
- 2. The Premier, Members of the Executive Council, Military and Civil Aides, and Officers comprising the Officer Escort meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 3. The Premier, Military and Civil Aides and Officer Escort accompany His Honour from the reception room to the Chamber in the following order:

The Civil Aide on the right The Military Aide on the left The Officer Escort The Premier The Lieutenant Governor.

4. At the main entrance, the Military and Civil Aides, the Officer Escort halt and turn inwards to allow the Lieutenant Governor and the Premier to advance to the head of the Officer Escort, where His Honour is met by the Mace.

The Lieutenant Governor then, preceded by the Mace carried shoulder high and followed on his left by the Military Aide, and on his right by the Civil Aide, proceeds along the west side of the Chamber to the Throne. The Premier proceeds along the east side and stands on the floor on the east side of the Chamber.

The Military Aide takes up his position on the east side of the Throne and the Civil Aide takes up his position on the west side of the Chamber.

The Officer Escort is positioned on the west side of the Throne.

- 5. The Lieutenant Governor seats himself on the Throne; the Mace makes obeisance and retires to the east side of the Chamber.
- 6. The Civil Aide advances from the position he has taken on the west side of the Chamber and, after the usual obeisance on each step, hands the Lieutenant Governor the Speech from the Throne.

The Civil Aide then retires, step by step, and takes up his position on the west side of the Chamber.

Before the Lieutenant Governor reads the Speech from the Throne, he will say "PLEASE BE SEATED".

7. The Lieutenant Governor reads the Speech from the Throne.

The Mace then makes obeisance before the Lieutenant Governor and precedes him along the east side of the Chamber to the main entrance, accompanied by the Premier, the Aides and the Officer Escort. All Members and guests standing.

8. The Speaker proceeds to the Chair after His Honour has retired from the House.

The Premier proceeds to his seat in the Chamber.

The Acting Sergeant-at-Arms proceeds to the Speaker who is standing before the Chair. The Mace makes obeisance and returns to the Table.

The Clerks take their chairs at the Table.

- 9. Prayers.
- 10. The Speaker bows to the Members and says "PLEASE BE SEATED".
- 11. The Premier moves:

"THAT leave be given to introduce a Bill (No. 1) – An Act respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office; Loi sur la prestation des serments d'entrée en fonction, and that the same be now received and read a First Time."

12. The Speaker informs the House that:

"Garry Clark has been appointed Acting Sergeant-at-Arms for the First Session of the Thirty-Seventh Legislature and Dennis Huyda has been appointed Acting Deputy Sergeant-at-Arms."

13. The Speaker then informs the House that:

Courtney Marion, Transcona-Springfield School Division No. 12; Kate Mossman, Fort Garry School Division No. 5; Irene Lemieux-Robinson, Winnipeg School Division No. 1; Rebecca Turner, Evergreen School Division No. 22; Vincent Ho, Fort Garry School Division No. 5; Orion Penner, Lord Selkirk School Division No. 11; Brooke Coggan, Interlake School Division No. 21; and Amanda Wowryk, Winnipeg School Division No. 1

have been appointed Pages for the First Session of the Thirty-Seventh Legislature.

14. The Premier moves:

"THAT a Special Committee consisting Peter George Dyck, Marcel Laurendeau, Harold Gilleshammer, Hon. Gordon Mackintosh, Hon. Steve Ashton, Tom Nevakshonoff and Nancy Allan be appointed to prepare lists of members to compose the Standing Committees provided under sub-rule 81(1)."

15. The Premier moves:

"THAT the Speech of His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor be taken into consideration tomorrow."

16. The Premier moves:

"THAT this House do now adjourn."

17. The Speaker, preceded by the Acting Sergeant-at-Arms and followed by the Clerks of the Legislative Assembly, proceeds along the east side of the Chamber and exits through the main entrance. **All Members and guests standing**.